Restaurante Historico Puente Blanco

It’s been a hectic past couple of weeks, so I have been pretty delinquent in my posting, but I promise you I will try to catch up a bit over the weekend.

On a recent trip to Puerto Rico, I stayed with one of Mami’s sisters who is nothing short of a pepperpot. Tia Bienvenida has a joie de vie that is to be envied. Nothing gets her down, and I wish that I could have half the energy now, that she has at 72. Tia Bien took me to one of her favorite seaside restaurants in Quebradillas, Puerto Rico called Restaurante Historico Puente Blanco. The views from the restaurant are picturesque and dramatic, but since we went in the evening, the view was quite wasted on us. The restaurant is at the very end of a long road that is studded with restaurants and “posadas”, little guest houses that dot the coastline. I was curious as to why Tia had decided to go to the very last of the restaurants on the road. My fears were soon resolved. We were greeted with a basket of fresh, hot Pan de Agua rolls that practically melted in our mouths.

The appetizers featured fresh seafood, of course, but I ordered the Surtido Platter, with corn sorullitos, fried cheese, chicharron, masitas, and croquetas de bacalao.


Surtido Platter


Tia Bienvenida (isn’t she fierce?) ordered the Escargot Maison, and her granddaughter, the gorgeous Wilmarys order the Palitos de Queso with salsa.

The Coctel de Langosta was sweet and delicious with a hint of citrus. Nothing too complicated, just good clean food.


Coctel de Langosta

Whenever I find myself in the caribbean, I do not miss the opportunity to eat conch. My cousin Jeanette graciously offered to share her appetizer of Coctel de Carrucho with me. The conch was sweet and surprisingly tender…I could have madea meal of this alone.

The entrees were equally typical of Puerto Rican seaside fare, with some interesting twists. I ordered the Chillo Frito, of course (it was done a tad more than I like, but was impeccably fresh and well seasoned), my cousin Jeannie had the Langosta and Camaron Ajillo stuffed into Yuca Mofongo cups (this was twenty kinds of wonderful!), her husband ordered the Mofongo Relleno de Langosta, and her son Christian, ordered the Camarones Ajillo. Tia enjoyed the Langosta “Criolla” which tasted like home.


Chillo Frito


Lobster and Shrimp Ajillo in Yuca Mofongo cups


Camarones Ajillo


Langosta Criolla

We were feeling quite satisfied now, but decided to order a few desserts to share. We had a tres leches that was so incredibly delicious, I had to call the Chef Jose Morales over to the table and beg him for the recipe (he was generous enough to share!). We rounded out the order with Guava Shells served with cheese, Candied Papaya slices with cheese and Flan.


Dulce de Leche……………………………………….Guava Shells with cheese


Dulce de Papaya…………………………………………Flan

Chef Jose was a chef in numerous hotel restaurants in New York for over 30 years, before moving to Puerto Rico and starting his own business. He runs the kitchen seven days a week, but is passionate about the work he does. Along with his partner and wife, Felicita Morales, and his lovely staff, Chef Morales make Puente Blanco the obvious choice when dining in Quebradilla.


Jessica Gonzalez, Roseliz Guzman, Tia Bienvenida, Chef jose Morales, Daisy and Felicita Morales.

Wilmarys, Pedro, Tia Bien, Christian, and Jeanette

What the “historic” aspect of the Puente Blanco was, I’m not clear on (and I could not understand the explanation that Chef Morales told me) but what was crysalline was that I enjoyed an incredible meal at this lovely restaurant. The restaurant also has a seperate “salon” with a lovely bar that makes it perfect for parties and events.

Restaurante Historico Puente Blanco

Calle La Estacion Ramal 4484
Km 1.9

Quebradillas, P.R. 00678

787 895 1934 

10 Responses to “Restaurante Historico Puente Blanco”


  1. 1 Mike Delgado November 11, 2007 at 4:49 am

    Daisy, Daisy, Daisy!
    Your restaurant reviews are awesome – I love them! Every time I see those pictures you post, me das gana de comer (y que comida mas sabrosa)! It’s getting tougher to live up to my last name with all these great eats ;)
    You have some great reviews and recommendations for places all over except PR! This is the only one I found on your blog. Que pasa con eso?
    Next week I’m going to be flying to La Isla for the first time in 9 years. I’ll definitely be stopping in Quebradillas para saborear la comida. But I was wondering of other places that are “Daisy-certified” – any suggestions?
    I’ll be staying in Humacao most of the time, but I plan on taking a couple of days going around the whole island so wherever it might be, I’ll check it out (that is, after my family stops feeding me and lets me!)
    Thanks for your wonderful suggestions!
    For you and your family, have a wonderful Thanksgiving
    Your favorite Bronx fan!

  2. 2 daisy November 12, 2007 at 2:20 pm

    Hola Mike!

    I just have not been able to go to Puerto Rico and spend sometime enjoying the food of the island..it is in my future plans though!

    Daisy

  3. 3 christian caballero vega November 14, 2007 at 3:57 pm

    Hola daisy es tu primo christian ahora si pude toda la pagina completa espero que estes bien y saludos a toda tu familia y en especial a ti muchos besos tu primo christian,jeanette,pedro,wilmerys y taty besitos

  4. 4 daisy November 15, 2007 at 8:58 am

    Christian! Mi amor! Que mucha falta me haces, y me alegro mucho que por fin puedas ver a toda la pagina. Verdad que salieron bonitas la fotos? Que pasen un feliz dia de accion de gracias, y espero verlos todos pronto. oxoD

  5. 5 Melissa December 23, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    OMG!!! That pic of the langosta criolla made me dizzy!!! My family and I (me, my hubby, our two kids, my sis, her hubby and daughter and our mom) are taking a trip in Easter to visit my grandparents in Aguadilla. We usually stay in Isabela but this year we are renting a beach house in Rincon. I think we going to definetly have to take a trip to Quebradillas to visit this restaurant!!! Can’t wait!!!

  6. 6 daisy December 23, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    Dear Melissa:

    Have fun with the family PR. Please visit the restaurant and send me feedback..

    Felicidades!

    Daisy

  7. 7 Luz Rivera February 15, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Dear Daisy,
    I’m truly happy to watch Daisy Cooks on PBS more often now.
    My husband and I watch your show whenever you’re on.
    I must tell you that two weeks ago we watched you cook caldo
    gallego and our mouths watered. We plan to go this Saturday
    to the Essex Street Market to see what we can find. I love the way that you show pride in your roots and love for your family. God bless you,your family and everyone who makes your
    show Possible.Keep up the fantastic work.
    We are all proud of you in Brooklyn. Luz Rivera

  8. 8 daisy February 15, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    Thanks, Luz! You guys make it all worthwhile!

  9. 9 Felicita Morales March 9, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Dear Daisy,
    I stumbled on your site while googling my name. Boy, I should be so lucky and have Chef Morales for a husband ;-)!
    Anyway, your review was great and the pics where amazing! Did u take those?
    When I return to the Isla that will definetly be one of my stops w/ la familia. Thanks for the review.
    Peace,
    Felicita

    PS – Do u know any great PR restaurants in Nueva Yor?

  10. 10 daisy March 10, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    Dear Felicita:

    Yes, I took the pictures, and let me tell you, you should run to this place when in PR!!

    Thanks for writing and Saludos!

    Daisy

    BTW, La Fonda Boricua in Spanish Harlem is pretty good..


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

Hoda KGL and me

Morel-Fava Stuffed Artichoke Hearts

Morel-Fava Stuffed Artichoke Hearts

Morel-Fava Stuffed Artichoke Hearts

Morel-Fava Stuffed Artichoke Hearts

Morel-Fava Stuffed Artichoke Hearts

Morel-Fava Stuffed Artichoke Hearts

Morel-Fava Stuffed Artichoke Hearts

Morel-Fava Stuffed Artichoke Hearts

Morel-Fava Stuffed Artichoke Hearts

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,479 other followers

