There’s A Feelin’ in the Air…

I got up extra early this morning to cast my vote, and I swear, the whole vibe at the poll was different than anything I’ve ever experienced before. People were cheerful, even pleasant, and smiles were plentiful. I walked into the booth to cast my vote, and I took a bit longer than usual, making sure that everything was where it was supposed to be, and that I was not making an inadvertant mistake. For the first time in a long time I felt that as a Latina, this vote was going to make a huge impact on the history of the United States…and as a Latina, I felt pride.

As I drew the lever to cast my vote, I saw a stranger, pat my son David on the back, congratulating him on his first Presidential election, and I smiled. How many other young Latinos have registered and are voting for the first time, for such a momentous occasion? I looked around the school auditorium, in my incredibly diverse neighborhood in Brooklyn, New York, and everywhere I looked I saw smiles, good cheer…and hope. My eyes met Dave’s and he said, “Let’s go, mom….Obamanos!” I feel the winds of change.

Get out there and make it count. VOTE! VOTE! VOTE! It’s the only way we will make a difference!

5 Responses to “There’s A Feelin’ in the Air…”


  1. 2 Mike Delgado November 9, 2008 at 1:14 am

    It was HISTORIC!
    And long overdue.

  2. 3 daisy November 9, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    YES!!! (missed you, bro!)

  3. 4 Mike Delgado November 10, 2008 at 1:04 am

    Igualmente, bella!
    Too much work, too little free time – but you know how THAT is!
    Besos!


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

Hoda KGL and me

Morel-Fava Stuffed Artichoke Hearts

Morel-Fava Stuffed Artichoke Hearts

Morel-Fava Stuffed Artichoke Hearts

Morel-Fava Stuffed Artichoke Hearts

Morel-Fava Stuffed Artichoke Hearts

Morel-Fava Stuffed Artichoke Hearts

Morel-Fava Stuffed Artichoke Hearts

Morel-Fava Stuffed Artichoke Hearts

Morel-Fava Stuffed Artichoke Hearts

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,477 other followers

