October 2006

Welcome to my own little corner of the web! Be it ever so humble and all of that, I decided to develop this site so that fans could have direct access to me, without fear that their question and emails would go unanswered or un-addressed.

The aim of this site is to keep you all up to date on appearances, book signing, demos, etc. Because my most favorite thing to do is meeting you all in person and sharing memories and stories. In addition, I have a gazillion pictures, both from my personal albums and of my public appearances to share with you. I hope to be able to share my favorite spots, dishes, drinks and people with you and I encourage you all to send in your pictures so we can share them with everyone here. The recipes that I am sharing with you this month reflect the bounty of the season. Glorious tomatoes are at their height right now, along with other vegetables that I could always find in Mami’s garden, like eggplant. The crispness in the October air makes me reach for comfort food, and nothing says comfort to me like Roast Chicken, promise me you’ll give this one a try.

I am going to wrap the whole thing up with my singularly most requested recipe: The Mexican Flan, for a bit of sweet! So pull up a chair (and a keyboard!) and make yourself at home. You are chilling with Daisy now!

2 Responses to “October 2006”


  1. 1 Barbara Perry February 10, 2007 at 11:47 pm

    Question for Daisy, I have some trouble with my carmel for my flan, I have made more than one batch and had to throw it out because it didn’t come out right. I used the old way of 1 cup water and 1 cup granulated sugar cook over heat until carmel in color. Sometimes though it is like glass in the bottom of the pie plate and only a small portion is on my flan. I haven’t tried sugar only with no water. What do you suggest so I can get a good carmel on the top of my flan everytime. I first made this recipe last year when it was shown on TV it is great. Thank Barbara

  2. 2 daisy February 11, 2007 at 10:48 am

    Hola Barbara,

    I think you may be using way too much water. Try using 1/4 cup (3 tablespoons) of water to one cup of sugar, and do not stir it until the bottom layer of sugar starts to melt and caramelize. Then swirl the pot, lower the heat, until more of the sugar melts. When you start getting good color, then you can stir and finish off the caramel. Good luck and let me know how you make out!

    Daisy


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

