STILL waiting to exhale….!

Thankfully, I can count on my pals at offthebroiler.com and foodcandy.com, to keep me on my toes, but schedules being what they are, I haven’t had a chance to post about the incredible event at Guastavino’s in NYC this past Saturday, called Spain: The Summit. I am still trying to digest all of the information that was “plated up” by these ten Iberian culinary giants.

Click on “Continue Reading” below to read more. 

I walked in after Chef Quique Dacosta had started his demo, and the concepts were so edgy, that it took me a bit to get into the mindset.

It didn’t take long before I was running into good friends…Alex Urena, was present and the house, and had opened his kitchens to the visiting chefs, at his restaurant, Urena.


Whenever I run into Alex, I want to say to him, “come over the house and let me cook for you”….but I’m kind of intimidated! That boy can rock a stove!

Next up was chef Paco Torreblanca: what an experience! He has developed this

Hard candies with liquid centers! It was really mind boggling for me as a savory person to get so involved with a Master of Sweet! Next up, were Chefs Alberto Chicote and Paco Roncero who have their schtick down pat! I was an avid fan of their carrot “spaghetti” in smoked tuna broth.

LOS DIEZ!!

I have to tell you my knees were shaking when I met this man…but I was overwhelmed by his humility and warmth!

Of course, Miguelina caught Juam Mari Arzak’s eye!

There was a terrific assortment of food produced by the FCI, that was both visually appealing and delicious!

Hats off to Chef Henri and Chef Sixto from the FCI!!

Chef Tom Hurley of the famous Hurley’s Restaurant in Portland, Oregon… What a thrill it was to meet him…not only can the boy cook, but he was a FIREFIGHTER!!!

Daisy and Chef Paco Roncera

Daisy meets Chef Jorge Chicote…what a sweetie!

Some home grown talent, and an FCI alumni! Chef Wylie Dufresne, on his way to work from The Summit, with Daisy Martinez.

Chef Joan and Jordi Roca get ready to ROCK the olfactory aspect of the culinary world! (Ferran Adria steps in for some added drama!).

El Maestro pontificates!

Melon caviar…shoot me now!

Chef Jordi Roca defines cuisine through his nose,,,he pairs his desserts with commercial perfumes like Calvin Klein’s Eternity!

I like to leave things off on a sweet note, and the coffee mousse desserts were the perfect note. I feel really privileged to have been able to witness such an extraordinary culinary event. There is no doubt in my mind that this event will remain with me for a very, very long time.

4 Responses to “STILL waiting to exhale….!”


  1. 1 Bunny Love October 17, 2006 at 11:30 pm

    Daymn, that all looks so good. I almost want to eat my monitor. You look awesome, as always. 🙂

  2. 2 daisy October 18, 2006 at 2:26 pm

    you are way tooo generous! thanks, sweetie!

  3. 3 rod October 18, 2006 at 6:44 pm

    Daiz
    That looked fantastic!! Good to see my 2 favorite chefs in NY Sixto and Henri. Was there any dancing afterwards? Chef Sixto looked ready for action.

    Rod

  4. 4 daisy October 18, 2006 at 8:32 pm

    rod, it was the most amazing event ever! i’m STILL pinching myself…so much talent under one roof!…and sixto and henri were in rare form! lol! we didn’t go dancing, though…too bad!


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

