Shout outs to Elizabeth High School in New Jersey!

Yesterday, October 18th, I was fortunate enough to have been invited to visit the culinary program at Elizabeth High School, in Elizabeth, New Jersey. Now, I really enjoy visiting schools, and doing demos for kids interested in the kitchen, but I was completely blown away when I walked into the campus and into the kitchen!

Chef Instructor Paul, Chef Instructor Ben, and Chef Instructor Bruce run a cracker jack kitchen, and the students find themselves up to the task! I was quickly assigned two “sous chefs” who were there to make sure the demo ran smoothly. Marlon and Hollywood were courteous, attentive and very professional. I would definately give them a great job recommendation, or reference letter!

Click on “Continue Reading” below to read more. 

The students ask a lot of good questions, and listen well. I shared with them a story about the Spain:Summit event that I did over the weekend, and they were enthralled!

The class filled up pretty quickly, and the school had a cameraman on hand to record the demo. That might come in handy if they ever want to make perfect, fluffy rice!

Two of my chefs-in-training make quick work of prepping chorizos!

While Marlon and Hollywood prep the beets for the salad.

“So kids, whats the secret to perfect, fluffy rice, each and everytime?”

Chef Paul substituted Queso del Pais for cabrales, and it was absolutely delicious. Even the students and teachers that didn’t like beets before, enjoyed it!

Ahhhhhhhhhh! Like I said before, “perfect and fluffy, each and everytime!” Everyone really loved the arroz con chorizo.

The kids tuck in! MMMMMMMMMM!

Thank you, Sous Chef Marlon!

Thank you, Chef Paul!

And you, Chef Ben!

And last, but most certainly not least, thank you to the students at the Elizabeth High School Culinary Program !!!

Invite me back real soon! I had waaaay too much fun!

2 Responses to “Shout outs to Elizabeth High School in New Jersey!”


  1. 1 Bunny Love October 19, 2006 at 12:31 am

    “So kids, whats the secret to perfect, fluffy rice, each and everytime?”

    Two fingers of water past the top of the rice.

    …. I think. I gotta go get your book out.


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

