The CBS Saturday Early Show

I stopped by CBS studios this morning to do a Chef on a Shoestring segment for The Saturday Early Show, where I was challenged to make a three course meal for 4 people, for under $40.00. Was I up to the challenge? You bet I was!

First stop was the amazing prep kitchen in the studio to meet up with Food Stylist extraordinaire John Bjostad and his incredibly detail oriented assistant, to discuss presentation and set up.

I’ve actually worked with John and his team before, so I felt very comfortable and safe in his hands. They have a very good feel for my “sazon” in the kitchen, so that everything tastes exactly as if I made it. I didn’t really have to spend much time in there at all, so after hair and makeup, I was bought out to the set, to get my bearings. doesn’t it look gorgeous? Mm-hmm…John and company!

Click on “Continue Reading” below to read more.


I was joined by anchorman Russ Mitchell, who remembered me from the last time I did the segment. Unfortunately, I (with my penchant for calling everyone by another name!) called him David during the segment, and that pretty much was the running gag for the rest of the spot.

He called me Dina, and ribbed me about not getting names right, and when the other anchors, Ira Joe and Tracy came out, he introduced them as Irwin and Tammy!

On the upside, the food was wonderful, and everyone got a taste.

Did I meet the cutoff? The grand total came to $39.85!!! *SWISH* All net, baby!

Ira Joe even hung around for another taste of the Cuban black bean soup, and remarked it was nothing short of AMAZING!


They’re a really terrific bunch over there…I hope they invite me back! I promise I’ll remember everone’s name this time!

7 Responses to “The CBS Saturday Early Show”


  1. 1 Bunny Love October 21, 2006 at 5:36 pm

    I didn’t know you were on! I hope they have a clip up of you, otherwise I would have taped it.🙂

  2. 2 daisy October 21, 2006 at 7:01 pm

    i’m so sorry! i’m gonna get a copy…i’ll make one for ya!

  3. 3 Jason Perl;ow October 21, 2006 at 8:40 pm

    Daisy, what was the full menu? Arroz Amarillo with Pollo al Horno, Sopa de Frijol Negro and Flan? I didn’t catch the show, I was, uh… sleeping and I forgot to Tivo it! doh!

  4. 4 daisy October 21, 2006 at 8:48 pm

    lol…i wish I had slept in this morning! The menu was Cuban black bean soup, Roast Chicken with wet adobo, yellow rice, and Mexican flan…the anchors had a BLAST!!

  5. 5 gbl October 23, 2006 at 5:12 pm

    FYI, I got my mother to watch some of it, and needless to say, she was impressed as usual. She’s waiting for news of your upcoming appearances of course.

  6. 6 Richard October 24, 2006 at 5:47 am

    You have a blog? … What? … Am I the last gremlin on the planet to know?

    I love you !

  7. 7 daisy October 24, 2006 at 8:14 pm

    What the heck are you doing up at that hour of the morning!!! What do you think of the blog? I started it when i put up daisymartinez.com so that the fans could reach me when they needed to.


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

