DeGustibus at Macy’s Herald Square

Last Monday, October 23, 2006, I did an event at DeGustibus in Herald Square. This cooking demo is unique in that the performing chef has the opportunity to prepare a 4-5 course meal for the audience. The meal is then paired with wines, and the audience has the opportunity to ask questions and interract with the chef. It is really one of my favorite venues, and being that before I cooked professionally I was a DeGustibus fan, it truly works out to be one of theose “full circle moments” we keep hearing about!

I showed up about 2PM with my brother, Chef Peter Martinez, and Chef Tagere Southwell, and her assistant Myra. We were cooking for about 80 people and I wanted to make sure that we had all our ducks lined up just so, which of course will facilitate things at time of service.

Chef Pete preps in the kitchen

Click on “Continue Reading” below to read more. 

Taz and Myra

The staff at DeGustibus is really crackerjack with Arlene Feldman Sailhac’s second in command, Amryl, leading at the helm.

Daisy and Amryl discuss plating and equipment for demos.

After a quick pre-game review, we were ready to rock! The theme for the evening was a party in Peru, and we started out the evening with a recipe I credit my brother with, Tiger Eye rolls. Peruvian food has a very large Asian influence (the President of the country was Japanese!), and I drew from these flavors for this menu. The roll starts out with an egg roll skin, which is painted with a chicken mousse (made from chicken thighs, cream, salt and pepper). That is then topped with a sheet of nori, which in turn is topped with a slice of jamon serrano. The crowning center of the roll are two poached asparagus, and then the whole thing is rolled up. I like to serve it with a sauce made from sriracha sauce, sour cream, and soy sauce.

Pretty, right?

The first course was a Casua Limena, which I like to call Peruvian Mashed Potato Salad, and while that may not sound appetizing, I can assure you it is nothing short of delicious. Potatoes are boiled, mashed then mixed with spicy yellow Peruvian pepper paste (aji amarillo), then filled with a crabmeat salad, and slices of avocado. I served it with a bit of mesclun in a citronette, garnished with red grapefruit slices.

Causa Limena

That was a dish that made the crowd pretty happy, but I still had a couple of treats up my sleeve. The main course was a Lomo Saltado, which is a juicy roast loin of pork, served with sauteed sweet peppers with a quinoa “risotto”. Everybody said that they were thrilled that I astually fed the crowd, as opposed to giving them a mouthful to taste. I answered that they obviously have not been to my house, lol!

Lomo saltado

Things were coming to a close, but before they did I had to end things on a sweet note, so I made a Coconut Panna Cotta with Tropical Fruits and Raspberry and Passion Fruit Coulis…what do you think?

Coconut Panna Cotta

I got the surprise of my life when Jerry and Angela showed up for the demo, and announced that Jerry was taking me to PARIS for my anniversary this year! I about passed out!!

All in all, I think that everyone had a great time and enjoyed some really delicious food! My picture even made it up on to the DeGustibus Wall of Fame, lol!

I managed to have time to sign books and greet fans, which is always a special part of these events!


And then it was time to thank the “back of the house” for all of their hard work.

Thanks guys (and girls!!) for a job well done!

15 Responses to “DeGustibus at Macy’s Herald Square”


  1. 1 Bunny Love November 1, 2006 at 3:19 pm

    I love the one with Angie and Jerry, they look so cute! How look how big she is! Definitely like her mommy. 🙂

    The food looks fantastic as always. 😀

  2. 3 Jason Perlow November 2, 2006 at 5:32 pm

    Oh man those rolls look awesome.

  3. 4 Chef Tagere' November 2, 2006 at 10:56 pm

    Como esta Chef Daisy Martinez?

    We look great. It was a beautiful time as always working with you and my new buddy Pete. Please say hello. What a pleasure working with people with the same passion, focus, and teamwork. I hope to work with you again soon.

    Love ya,

    Tagere’

  4. 5 Rod November 3, 2006 at 12:43 am

    Angela is so damn cute. Poor Jerry

    Rod

  5. 6 daisy November 3, 2006 at 8:35 am

    Jay, remind me to send you the recipe!

  6. 7 daisy November 3, 2006 at 8:36 am

    Taz, we totally rocked that…I look forward to working with you again!

  7. 8 daisy November 3, 2006 at 8:37 am

    Rod, Jerry is already sweating it bigtime! “Poor Jerry” doesn’t START to address it! lol!

  8. 9 ~*james*~ November 4, 2006 at 10:04 pm

    ahhh yes…’full circle moments’ are the best aren’t they!!!!!*hugs you* You deserve (and will have)SO many more of those beautiful moments martini,I know it in my mind,heart,and soul.
    I LOVED the pics!Jerry and Ang are too cute. Shes gotten so big since i last saw her.It looks like jer’ sweated off a few pounds while sitting there(poor jerry,lol). The food looked GREAT.
    ttys!
    ~*james*~
    Oh!! and Paris???WOOOHOOOO!!!!!LOL!!!!

  9. 10 Chef Myra November 5, 2006 at 9:31 pm

    It was such a pleasure to have the opportunity to work with you and Pete, and to share the same passion for Latin food with each other. I look forward to having the honor to work with you both again.

    Thank you very much. It was a great experience.

    Love Always,
    Myra R.Gonzalez

  10. 11 daisy November 5, 2006 at 10:36 pm

    welcome to the fold, jamie! i’m glad you liked the looks of the food…i hope you check back often!
    oxodaiz

  11. 12 daisy November 6, 2006 at 3:47 pm

    Believe me, Myra , the pleasure was ALL mine! You have no idea how much easier you guys made my job that evening! I very much look forward to working with you again!

  12. 13 Myra December 23, 2006 at 2:30 pm

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Years to you and your family… God Bless!!!

  13. 14 daisy December 25, 2006 at 2:48 pm

    Igualmente, querida!!

  14. 15 Rich January 15, 2007 at 3:35 am

    Hey Myra it was a great pleasure to have seen you…nice to see your success in the industry cant wait to see you again


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

