NYC Women in Food

This past February 3, 2007, I was invited to speak at an event that was coordinated by three of the leading “women in food” organizations in New York: Le Dames d’Escoffier NY, Women Chefs and Restauranteurs, and the New York Women’s Culinary Alliance. It was held at The Institute of Culinary Education , and was meant as a networking opportunity for women in food to mix, mingle and share some great food and wine together, and it really turned out as a success.


Magdalena Spyridowicz, Public Relations Queen, and Daisy


M. Young’s adorable Emily Nordee and Daisy

Ironically enough, I was asked to address how women mentors influenced and helped me in my career, and one of my culinary mentors (right after Abuela and Mami) was the keynote speaker, Lidia Bastianich. It was really great to thank her publicly and she was so gracious, as always. She loved my red dress!

Another thrill for me was to finally meet Denise Oller, who is Univision’s main anchor, and has a great sense of humor and a sharp wit. Little did I know that she is an alumn of ICE and now has a cooking segment on her show on Univision. You go Girl!

Liz Young (ICE), Denise Oller (Univision), Lidia Bastianich, and Daisy

Of course, I had the opportunity to meet old friends and make some new ones.


Daisy and the fabulously talented Chef Tagere Southwell.


ICE student/volunteers Loretta (left), Daisy and Jazmin. Coming up the ranks fast , girls!

I’m already looking forward to the event next year!

1 Response to “NYC Women in Food”


  1. 1 Emma February 10, 2007 at 1:35 am

    I love the red dress, too!


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

