Breakfast: Colombian vs. Dominican

A couple of weeks ago, I was having morning coffee with Migui, and we started waxing poetic about how fabulous and hearty Latino breakfasts are. Well, ok, we agreed that we can’t eat like that all the time, but boy, oh boy, every once in a while, it’s a little piece of heaven! We decided that it would be fun to do a comparative of different Latinos breakfasts, so we set out to Meson Colombiano in Jackson Heights for a traditional Colombian breakfast.

We called our friend and favorite baker, Juan Carlos Castro, who owns Villa Colombia Bakery in the same neighborhood. The restaurant was Juan Carlos’ choice, and he assured us that we would get a good representation of what the traditional Colombian breakfast tastes like.

Juan Carlos assured us that the main attraction of the traditional Colombian breakfast is the “calentado” which means “heated”. Traditionally, this is made from left over rice and beans from the night before, served with eggs and meat (in this case pan seared top round and Colombian chorizo), and sometimes with a little arepa.

Migui opted for the Huevos Pericos (scrambled with peppers, tomatoes and onions, oh my!) served with the calentado (seriously habit forming!!) and a little arepa. Served with a cup of delicious coffee, it was just what the doctor ordered to ward off the winter’s chill!



Juan Carlos ordered the scrambled eggs with calentado and arepa, and somehow, his calentado photographed so gorgeous that I must show it here!

We are very much in Juan Carlos’ debt for taking us for such a delicious breakfast! Gracias Querido!!
Meson Colombiano
82-11 Roosevelt Avenue
Flushing, NY 11372

718 397 1685

Now for the rebuttal! Migui, and her adorable Dad, Don Leo, invited me to El Malecon Restaurant in the Bronx, for the traditional Dominican breakfast called “Los Cuatro Golpes” which means “the four smacks”.

I’m going to go the whole hog and order the four smacks and a punch! Los cuatro golpes involve fried eggs, fried Dominican salami, fried cheese, and Dominican longaniza. This is traditionally served with toasted pressed bread and Mangu de platano, and boiled savory green bananas and yuca served with pickled red onions. Matame nunca!!


Los cuatro golpes is a really guilty pleasure, but hey, I can always give it up in confession! The longaniza is aromatic but not spicy, and the fried cheese has an addictive texture and saltiness…but when it comes to the mangu with pickled onions, I have to tell you that I virtually swoon in front of the platter. I washed my breakfast down with some piping hot, black Dominican coffee, but Migui opted for the Merengue Country Club pop (like The Puerto Rican Colita Champagne).

Lucy and her brother Javier Gomez, owners of El Malecon, keep an immaculate kitchen and their steam table is impeccable. The service is spot on, as well, polite and prompt.

Lucy (owner), with waitresses Soriana, and Marisleyda


Pernil (on the left) and Espaghetti con Pollo )


Rotisserie chicken and oxtail stew

After leaving El Malecon, I realized I had but one regret: that I didn’t have a spare stomach to bring with me the next time I visit. There are several Malecon restaurants in the city, this is definately my personal favorite. Stop by and say hello to Lucy and Javier, and make sure you tell them that Daisy and Migui sent you.

I leave the decision in your capable hands, folks…you pick, as I am completely at a loss. Colombian or Dominican, either way, it sure beats a cup of coffee and a doughnut on the fly for breakfast!


El Malecon Restaurant
5592 Broadway
Bronx, NY 10463

718 432 5155

13 Responses to “Breakfast: Colombian vs. Dominican”


  1. 1 Wendy March 14, 2007 at 9:44 pm

    Bueno me la pusiste dificil!!!. Que daria yo para poder ir al Malecon y que me den esos cuatro golpes me los merezco!!!!! LOL.

  2. 2 Tom March 14, 2007 at 10:17 pm

    well produced.

  3. 3 daisy March 15, 2007 at 3:52 pm

    Wendy,
    Tienes razon! Tu te lo mereces mejor que nadien!

  4. 4 mercedes fermin March 17, 2007 at 9:11 am

    Por favor no presente ese exquisito desayuno, hoy especialmente un sabado como este, es lo que necesito para levantar el animo. excelente.

  5. 5 daisy March 17, 2007 at 9:03 pm

    Dona Migui,

    Usted fue lo unico que falto ese dia. Tendremos que volver bien pronto!

    Con Carino,

    Daisy

  6. 6 Yuli April 11, 2007 at 10:55 am

    magnifica comparacion!! no hay nada como estos dos clases de desayunos. Siendo Colombiana casada con un Dominicano tengo el placer de disfrutar de los dos muy a menudo. Mil gracias por traer esta comparasion al resto del mundo!!

    Yuli

  7. 7 daisy April 11, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    Dear Yuli:

    You are indeed a very lucky woman!!

    La verdad es que nos fue imposible decidir, porque ambos desayunos estaban deliciosos y la compania fue perfecta en ambas ocasiones…

    Saludos!

    Daisy

  8. 8 Evette April 18, 2007 at 2:36 am

    Finally! I get to talk to you. I purchased your book and loved it. But where Is the instructions to cook Pernil? How about Mondungo? Cod fish salad with Yaltiya? Come on Daisy! What about Baccalaietoes light and crunchy? These are my childhood memories. Smelling all these good foods in the hall way of the apartment building where I lived In Brooklyn.I am not from P.R. But my taste buds are (smile).Please respond.

  9. 9 daisy April 18, 2007 at 10:02 pm

    Evette dear! check you book! they are all there but the mondongo! I will include it in my next book.

    Daisy

  10. 10 ROBERTO COLON April 19, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    IT WAS GREAT TALKING TO YOU TODAY, I JUST CANNOT BELIEVE THAT IT HAS BEEN OVER 32 YEARS SINCE WE LAST SPOKE….I FEEL GREAT!!!! THANKS FOR CALLING AND BY THE WAY MY FAVORITE RESTURANT IN MIAMI IS CASA JAUNCHO. I JUST KNOW YOU HAVE NOT BEEN THERE. COMMMENTS PLEASE

    T

  11. 11 daisy April 20, 2007 at 6:39 pm

    ummm…nooo, I can’t say I’ve been to Casa Juancho…I guess I’ll have to research it next time I’m in town. Thanks for the recommendation!

  12. 12 Jean Barresi April 23, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    Thank you for the pictures. I do however, recall that we in Bogota had hot Colombian Chocolate with melted cheese and French with our pericos. Till this day I make this for friends and family, they love it.
    Jean

  13. 13 daisy April 24, 2007 at 11:18 am

    Dear Jean, I love huevos pericos myself, and Colombian chocolate for breakfast…


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

