ICE, ICE, Baby!

I’ve had the pleasure of being invited to the Institute of Culinary Education to teach a class for leisure cooks a number of times, but I must say that this last one was really special. Not only were the students a very spirited bunch, but the menu was chock-full of Daisy food, so there was a lot of fun fare to boot! The students were met by my trusted assistant Chef Tagere (hey girl!) and her assistant Culinary Student Sebastian, who greeted them with a lovely platter of assorted cheeses, nuts and fruit to nibble on. Assignments were handed out, and we were on our way!

The menu included Tostones with Garlic Mojito, Pork in Guajillo Sauce, Chicken with Figs, Yellow Rice, and Mexican Flan. I was pleasantly surprised to see some familiar faces in the class amongst the new.


Janine and Wally


Fernando and Maria

I set the students to peel and prep the green plantains for the tostones, and to blacken the veggies for the guajillo sauce, while others busied themselves browning the chicken and making sofrito for the rice.

We managed to get the tostones through their first fry, and then started building the brown sauce for the chicken and fig dish.

Once we got the “busy” work out of the way and had everything bubbling on the stove or in the oven, I went around to get to know my teams a little better.


Rosemary, Jim, Janine, me, and Wally (who I have a crush on because he’s a firefighter!)


Donna, Robert, me, and friends


Sharifya, Rose, me, Maria and Fernando


Manny, Dana, me, Christina, and a lovely woman whose name escapes me (sorry!)

We were soon ready to sample the tostones and the garlic mojito; it got rave reviews!

We made short work out of those tostones! Luckily the chicken, pork and rice were ready to be served!

Jim and Wally plate chicken


Pork in Guajillo Sauce


Yellow Rice

Last but not least was the flan, which unmolded beautifully!

Everyone enjoyed the delicious fruits of their labor.

Thanks to all the students for making this the best class yet, and thanks to my kitchen ninjas, Tage, Sebastian, and Migui, of course!

I’m already looking forward to the next class!

6 Responses to “ICE, ICE, Baby!”


  1. 1 lewis w. mckinstry jr. April 17, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    Daisy I am soooo proud that your back when you were on PBS.
    I never missed one of your programs as I,am a big lover of latin food keep up the good work.

    Your Fan forever

    Lewis

  2. 2 daisy April 17, 2007 at 10:21 pm

    Hola Lewis,
    Thank you so very much for the love, brother! Stay tuned and stay well!

    Hasta pronto,

    Daisy

  3. 3 Lucas Scott May 1, 2007 at 9:34 pm

    coool food….i wish i were there

  4. 4 sybil December 8, 2007 at 10:24 pm

    Here at Puerto Rico was passed the episode where you did the Pollo con higos and my mom and I loved the recipe so I looked for it on the web and I found this wonderful place! I just liked your blog in mine, so the people who visit my blog learn about your great cook!

    Saludos desde la isla del encanto!🙂

  5. 5 Daisy December 11, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    Dear Sybil:

    Feel free to link your blog to mine..

    Gracias and Felices Fiestas!

    Saludos a Puerto Rico!

    Daisy


  1. 1 property valuers sydney nsw Trackback on May 13, 2016 at 3:45 am
Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

