May 2007

YAY!

It’s May!!! Gone are the clumsy fleeces, hats, coats, and gloves that I’ve lugged around for longer than I care to. I welcome the warm, sunny weather, and the riot of color in my garden with wide, open arms. Go pansies, and crocus! Up, grape hyacinth and daffodils! I am embracing my pretty, sleeveless dresses, and open toed sandals, and of course, I’m headed to my local market to scour the produce section for fiddleheads, artichokes, and blood oranges. Soft shell crabs, anyone? Sign me up!!!
I adore May for a few other, selfish reasons, too. First, there’s May Day, and I like to celebrate Cinco de Mayo (not because I’m Mexican, but because it’s a great excuse to make Mexican food and Margarita’s), then, my birthday on May 6th, and I celebrate Mother’s Day with my family. I have mentioned, haven’t I, that nobody loves a party like a Puerto Rican, right? Well, this Boricua is standing right in the front of that line!
For this month, I’d like to mix it up, and keep it festive. How about we start out with chilled Gazpacho, garnished with grilled shrimp and avocado? We can follow that up with some spicy, cheesy Chilaquiles, and Arroz con Gandules, and we can end the menu on a light, refreshing note with some Mango Sorbet, yes?…(Or maybe birthday cake!). All of these dishes can be made well ahead, so that you are available to enjoy your family and friends, and at the end of the day, that’s really the best part of a party, isn’t it? For this month’s exclusive recipe, go on over to Boriqua Blog, where I’ll show you how to make a delicious Crab/Maduro/Longaniza Hash with poached eggs, for your Mother’s day brunch!

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

