CHIMU, CHIMU Wherever you are….!

Wow! What a week and a half its been! Not that I’m complaining, of course, but talk about cramming every living second full of fun! The run started a week ago last Friday, when I was invited to a jewel of a Peruvian restaurant, right off the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway (you can actually see it from the highway) in Williamsburg, called CHIMU Peruvian Cuisine and Steakhouse. Now, you guys are probably quite familiar with my affinity for the marvel that is Peruvian cuisine, but let me very very clear when I say that this is the real thing!

Miggy and I took advantage of the opportunity to visit CHIMU and catch up with good friend Lynda Dias, and Miggy’s little sister, Margarita. We quickly got the ball rolling by ordering some delicious Pisco Sours, that most Peruvian of cocktails!

In the the interest of research, we ordered a huge assortment of appetizers that gave a more than fair representation of the deliciousness to come! We started off with some Papas a la Huancaina, boiled potatoes with huancaina sauce, which is made with peanuts and Peruvian cheese, amongst other things. Delicious!

A sparkly, citrusy, spicy ceviche was beautifully garnished with choclo, the giant kernel corn from Peru, and camote, Peruvian sweet potato.

The fried yuca platter was amazing, served with a spicy pico de gallo.

A couple of the soups on the menu caught my eye, since I’ve had them while visiting Peru. One word: outstanding!! We tried the Parihuela, a mixed seafood dish in a briny broth that was out of this world. I’ve had this soup in what is my favorite Peruvian restaurant in Lima, Rosa Nautica, and I can honestly say that this interpretation is on par with that. We shared the bowl, but this can easily be a meal for one!

I could not leave the restaurant with trying the Chupe de Mariscos, and I am glad I did! Creamy and redolent of the ocean with shrimp, calamari and chunks of fish, veggies, and the extra added surprise of rice at the bottom, this soup is comfort in a bowl! Sooooo good!

My pants were starting to feel a bit snug, by now (the third Pisco sour wasn’t helping!), but did I throw in the towel? No way! I took a deep breath and forged forward.

Our entrees did not fail to delight, either. We tried to stick with the most traditional of dishes, so that we could gauge the authenticity of the dish. The Aji de Gallina was a marvel, and as good as any I’ve had in Peru. Served with white rice, this is a great dish to try if you are looking to sample one of the most treasured dishes in Peruvian cuisine.

The Lomo Salteado (you can have either beef or pork) was excellent, the meat tender and juicy, the vegetable tender-crisp. As good as it is served with the traditional accompaniment of white rice, I couldn’t help thinking big, crusty bread!

Do not get me started on the Arroz Chaufa (you can get different varieties, we went with the seafood)! It was otherworldly sporting shrimp, clams, calamari, scallions and scrambled eggs. You can’t do better fried rice than this….and that’s saying something!

Miggy went with the Churrasco (meat is prominant on the menu) which was served with pickled red onions and a red bean moro. The meat was tender and juicy with a delicious charbroiled flavor. Mmmmmmmm!

Margarita chose the Peruvian roast chicken (whose ingredients are a subject of national security!) which was served with yuca frita. Again, Peruvian chefs have the roast chicken thing down! Awesome!

WHEW!!! Talk about about loving your work! We wrapped up the meal with a Mazamorra Morada, a dessert made from purple Peruvian corn, and a tiramisu that the owner sent over. You’ve heard me say this before, and undoubtedly, you’ll hear me say it again: I am not a dessert person, but both of these were very good.

Owner Freddy Iparraguirre stopped by the table to make sure that we were happy with our experience at CHIMU, and we thanked him for his generous hospitality.

CHIMU is definately a keeper!

CHIMU Peruvian Cuisine and Steakhouse
482 Union Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11211

20 Responses to “CHIMU, CHIMU Wherever you are….!”


  1. 1 Bunny May 13, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    I’m always amazed at how colourful the food of Latin America is. And these pictures prove that it’s not just good eatin’ but art. 🙂

    And as always you look fantastic!

  2. 2 Jason Perlow May 13, 2007 at 10:21 pm

    Ok now I have another reason besides visiting you, DiFara and Peter Luger to go to brooklyn. 🙂

  3. 3 ROBERTO COLON May 16, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    PERUVIAN FOOD IS JUST PLAIN DELICIOUS HERE IN MIAMI, THE BEST RESTURANT FOR PERUVIAN FOOD IS CASA BLANCA IN HOLLYWOOD FLA,THEY TRULY ALL ARE PERUVIAN PEOPLE WITH ONE THING IN MINE….GREAT TASTIN FOOD!!!!!

    TC

    MAIMI,FL

  4. 4 Anthony May 17, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    Hi Daisy…

    Just found your website/blog and think it’s great. I love how personable you are and love the step by step photo recipes. Nobody else I know does that in your field, and I think it’s great!!!! Food is sharing/family/love and you evoke that in everything you do. Thanks!

    My wife and I love to cook, and we have never been more excited to try your latin dishes and adding them to our collection. My wife’s family owned an Italian restaurant here at the Jersey Shore for 37 years, but those dishes can get alittle boring. Now it’s time for us to spice things up!

    QUESTION>>I made Sofrito last week for the first time….super easy….”Dear Sofrito-where have you been all my life”. How long would you say Sofrito can last in the freezer?? I froze a few individual portions.

    Take Care,
    Anthony and Lorraine

  5. 5 Anthony May 17, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    P.S.

    One Restaurant recommendation….

    Bistro Ole’ in Asbury Park, New Jersey

    They have the best flan I have ever tasted. Of course, I would be willing to move them to second if you want to make some of yours for us!!!!

    TC,
    Anthony and Lorraine

  6. 7 WENDY May 21, 2007 at 9:07 pm

    HEY I’VE BEEN THERE TONS OF TIMES WITH MY BF AND HE AND I LOVE THE SKIRT STEAK. THE FOOD THERE IS VERY DELICIOUS AND THE ATMOSPHERE GREAT. THE SERVICE IS EXCELLENT, SO I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE WHENEVER YOUR IN BROOKLYN.

  7. 8 Ivan May 21, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    I know exactly what you mean, my girlfriend and I have been enjoying this place for two years, and it never ceases to amaze me how great the food is. Im sure when anyone tries this place for the first time, it will not be thier last time.

    Brooklyn NY

  8. 9 daisy May 22, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    Wendy and Ivan, you know exactly what I am talking about..what a place, what food!

  9. 10 daisy May 22, 2007 at 4:53 pm

    Dear Anthony:

    If you froze the sofrito it should last a few days.

    The way I do it is, I make enough for a week, and then do it again, for freshness sake. I mean, it is so easy to make!

    Thank you very much for all of your support and kind words..

    Saludos!

  10. 11 Anthony May 23, 2007 at 11:46 am

    Thanks Daisy..great to hear from you.

    If the Sofrito only stays fresh for a few days, would you recommend just leaving it in the refrigerator?

    I made your chicken and figs the other night. It was great. I couldn’t find slab bacon, so I used thick cut, but I think it still came out alright. AND, I had a hard time finding figs of any sort, so I almost opted for apricots! My wife is a fig fanatic, so I surprised her with your dish and she loved it. Sometimes recipes are good, you make them once, and move on…but this one is a keeper!

    I also made yellow rice with it, my new favorite “staple”. Your two finger rule works perfect. Many might think, “big deal”, yellow rice, but coming from an Italian kitchen, these staples/tricks/recipes are great to add to the collection. Thanks again!

    TC,
    Anthony

  11. 12 daisy May 23, 2007 at 8:54 pm

    Anthony, if frozen the shell life is longer of course.

    It never lasts too long in my kitchen anyway!

  12. 13 Erica May 24, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    Daisy,
    This place looks absolutely amazing! I must tell you that I made a pernil for the first time in my life this past weekend. I used your recipe and it was a total hit! I’m so glad I bought your cookbook. It has all the recipes my mother and grandmothers made with actual measurements! Thanks again,
    Erica ; )

  13. 14 daisy May 24, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    Erica, I am thrilled to hear of your pernil success..

    Now, the next thing you need to accomplish is, having dinner at Chimu!

    Saludos,

    Daisy

  14. 15 yovanna May 25, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    Hey Daisy!,
    My mom and I have been watching your show for a while now and think it’s so fantastic finally having a chef on TV that’s showcasing foods from other places in Latin America besides Mexico. My mom is Panamanian, so we’ve been loving trying recipes from Puerto Rico, many of which are similar to what my mom grew up with (and I did coincdentally). Thank you for bringing the overlooked flavors of Latin America into the spotlight! Keep up the good work and thanks for sharing your passion with the rest of us!

  15. 16 daisy May 26, 2007 at 11:11 am

    Hola Yovanna (what a pretty name!),

    Thanks for writing in, and I’m thrilled that you are enjoying the show (you should definitely check out the companion book). I totally consider it a privelage to have been given the opportunity to showcase the colorful lcornucopia that is Latin cuisine. Thanks to people like yourself, I will continue to do this for a long time. Welcome to Team Daisy!

    Saludos,

    Daisy

  16. 17 Betsy May 26, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    Daisy,

    You were around the corner from my house and I missed you. I love the food at Chimu. It is a great spot to eat. I would also recommend to everyone out there to visit this low key spot. The garden is open during the summer months.

    I tried your paella recipe from Daisy Cooks Cookbook. It was the bomb. My family loved and my husband was impressed.

    Thanks. See you in the neighborhood.

    Betsy

  17. 18 daisy May 26, 2007 at 8:57 pm

    Hola Betsey

    Well, I guess I’ll just have to go back and do it again! I can’t agree with you more, doll. The food at CHIMU is nothing short of amazing! See you around!
    Saludos,
    Daisy


  1. 1 Daisycooks calamari | Gofites Trackback on September 9, 2012 at 2:39 am
  2. 2 omega 8004 Trackback on October 4, 2014 at 8:22 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos