Happy Birthday to Me! Part 1

Okay guys, I promised you to catch up on the insanity that has been this month, and I am true to my word, so here we go.

Violette and Paul decided to jump start my birthday celebrations by inviting me for a fabulous Cinco de Mayo brunch on, well, May 5th, the day before my birthday! Pal decided on Dos Caminos SOHO which I had never been to, but will certainly revisit (looking back on the blog I noticed that I only post restaurants that I like…restaurants that I don’t recommend do not make it to the blog). Paul quickly ordered frozen margaritas to put everyone in a festive mood. That boy sure knows how to throw a party (with a lot of help from Violette!).


Violette invited all of the Sofrito Girls, but what with everyone’s crazy busy schedule, we managed to have a very small, intimate party.


Loni and Violette

We started off with some fabulous guacamole, which we demolished the second it was served, so I didn’t get a picture of it, although you can see the traditional molcajete it is served in in the picture above with Loni and Vi. The guacamole is actually made tableside by the waiter, who personalizes the heat in it. The restaurant was very crowded, what with everyone wanting to get a headstart on the Cinco celebrations. Cinco de Mayo, by the way, is a holiday that commemorates the Mexican Army’s defeat of the French Army in the city of Puebla on May 5, 1862. Their victory was short lived, however, as Napolean’s army came back a year later to occupy Mexico.

But enough with the history lesson! We ordered a wonderfully fresh seviche and taquito sampler platter that was delicious. The seviche was garnished with red onion and nopalitos which were briny and tender, and little pats of buttery avocado helped tame the heat. The taquito sampler offered meat as well as seafood, and was accompanied by refried beans and white rice.

The carne asada tacos were really awesome, the meat appears to have been brined, and it was fragrant and smoky, and our waiter brought out three different sauces that ranged in heat from wuss to lunatic to personalize our taco experience.


We followed that with a ooey, gooey , cheesy quesadilla that was really tasty (who doesn’t like melted cheese?!) and garnished with grilled vegetables.

We wrapped up the meal with a fresh fruit fondue that featured dark and white chocolate. Again, I can’t imagine how you could go wrong with this combination! And I don’t even have a sweettooth!

I don’t think I’ll be waiting until next Cinco de Mayo to go back to Dos Caminos...bet on that! Don’t I have the best friends ever?

Dos Caminos Soho
475 West Broadway
New York, NY 10012

212 277 4300

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos


