Feliz Dia de Los Padres

I had the pleasure of making dinner for my Papi this year on Father’s Day. This may not seem like a big deal for most folks, but since Mami and Papi live in Florida, it’s been quite a while since I was able to cook for him in my own home. Luckily, I was able to fly him here last week for the filming of my pilot (for the new show!) and I convinced then to stay for Father’s Day.

We were blessed with gorgeous weather, to begin with, and to top things off, I had my brother Pete manning the grill and the smoker! We decided that the theme for our dinner was RIBS, and we prepared Mesquite Smoked Pork Spare Ribs, and Grilled Short Ribs with Balsamic Glaze. I decided to go with a Southern Fried Chicken, marinated in buttermilk, and tossed in a seasoned flour that was flavored with sea salt, pepper, paprika, and Old Bay seasoning. What about salads and sides? I love a tender crisp corn on the cob (oh so sweet!), a tomato salad with red onions, garlic and basil, and a gently sauteed chopped collards dressed in a light butter sauce.


Pete finishes the short ribs very gently on the grill, so they don’t dry out.


When you think MEAT?…Think PETE!


Perfection!!

I made a huge jar of home made lemonade, and I set Papi out to relax in the backyard while we got his dinner ready.


The Silver Fox puts his feet up!


Mami mans the lemonade stand!

Angela and Marc were on hand for the festivities, and decided to cool off before dinner.

Finally, it was time for dinner!…and what a dinner it was!


Mesquite smoked Pork Spare Ribs


Tomato Salad


Sweet Poached Corn with Drawn Butter


Complete Dinner Plate with Southern Fried Chicken, and Balsamic Glazed Beef Short Ribs,Mesquite Smoked Pork Spare Ribs, Collard Greens, and Tomato Salad

I’m going to out on a limb here, and say that Papi enjoyed his dinner!

To top things off, we had the pleasure of our friends Paul and Paula, join us for the festivities, and their daughter Lola was the icing on the Father’s Day cake!

Happy Father’s Day to all the Papi’s out there. There is no way to repay you for all of your love, support, and encouragement, all year round!

10 Responses to “Feliz Dia de Los Padres”


  1. 1 Bunny June 17, 2007 at 9:21 pm

    My mouth is watering here! It looks delicious and it also looks like you had a whole love of fun.

  2. 2 John Principe June 18, 2007 at 1:04 am

    Daisy,

    What a wonderful celebration! Your pilot shoot looks great as well. Can’t wait to see it.

    Tu Amigo
    John Principe

  3. 3 daisy June 18, 2007 at 8:40 am

    Hola Doc!

    So nice to hear from you! Yes, it appears things are moving right along…I can’t wait to get back to studio. It feels like forever, since I’ve been there. I’ll keep you posted.

    Saludos,

    Daisy

  4. 4 daisy June 18, 2007 at 8:41 am

    Hey Bunz!

    It really was a lovely Father’s Day. I was thrilled to make it nice for my dad. btw HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

  5. 5 rob June 18, 2007 at 9:11 pm

    I think it’s safe to say that with the awesome weather we had everyone in the NY/NJ area had a BBQ for father’s day! Obviously ours wasn’t as good as yours, but I’m not a professional (yet!) So glad to hear you’ve got more of your TV show coming soon. There aren’t enough Latino cooks on TV and you really show the country how easy tasty and heart-wearing our food really is

  6. 6 TITO June 22, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    Thanks for the “Happy Father’s Day” posted note. It looks like you and your family had a great day. It was very nice at our house also. The food looks wonderful, keep up the great work.

    Tito Colon

  7. 7 maria rodriguez June 26, 2007 at 6:46 pm

    hi daisy! siempre que tengo oportunidad veo tu programa y me gozo con tus recetas y disfruto cuando las pongo en practica,con mis amistades y familiares; quiero hacerte una pregunta; de casualidad tienes la receta de rellenos de papa, son papas majadas con relleno de carne adentro. Espero que me ayudes con este antojo de poder hacerlos como los hacen en P.R.

    Exito en tu programa

    Carino; Maria Rodriguez

  8. 8 miriam merty utesa July 5, 2007 at 12:22 pm

    hola wey como as estado .te amo muncho. adiosito.

    ADIOS Y CUIDATE

  9. 9 daisy August 17, 2007 at 9:41 am

    Hola Rob,

    Thank you so very much for your lovely Father’s Day email. I am thrilled to hear that you are enjoying our Latino food “showcase”. Hopefully, we will back on the air shortly, so that I can continue to share my passion for Latino cuisine with everyone.

    Hasta pronto,

    Daisy

  10. 10 daisy August 17, 2007 at 10:24 am

    Hola Maria,
    Gracias por tu comentario…espero hacer un “tutorial” de Papas Rellenas en el Blog para el mes de septiembre. Espero que lo difrutes!
    Hasta pronto,

    Daisy


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

