Crickets….crickets….

Is it me, or has it gotten really quiet around here lately? Everyone must be having a really fabulous summer, because things have really quieted down in the “comments” section, lol…I thought I’d break the Dominican Republic retrospective up a little bit and share something a little different…
…..and speaking of crickets, I was invited to the NY Premiere of the Jennifer Lopez/Marc Anthony movie, “El Cantante” last Thursday evening. First let me say that I have always been a great fan of Hector LaVoe and his music. That is the music of my teen hood, my first crush, that I first learned to salsa to. In short, I really, really, really wanted to love this movie. I had seen a trailer of it last year at The NY Puerto Rican Day Parade, and felt my hairs stand up when I saw Marc Anthony singing “Aguanile” as Hector LaVoe. I felt he had really captured the “Hector” thing. So when I got the chance to attend the premiere, I jumped!

The premiere was held at the AMC Theater on 42and Street, and the was very little in the way of organization when we got there. I’ve been to premieres at the Ziegfeld, and the red carpet is always well defined, security is on top of everything, and traffic is under control. The fact that the AMC is a 25 theatre complex, complicated that a little bit, but we managed to be herded in only to get up to the theater and wait 90 minutes (the movie was to start at 7PM and started at 8:25 or so), the air conditioner was not working, and people were walking out in droves. Still, I wanted to stick it out like a true fan. I’ll leave it to Siskel and Ebert to critique the movie, but as a fan, I was disappointed. The movie really should have been called Puchi LaVoe, but I digress.

Okay, I figure…maybe the after party at Cipriani’s will be better…I mean how bad could a party at Cipriani’s be, right? *Sigh* I felt bad because it felt to me like JLo’s and MA’s celebrity fans did not come out in support of the movie. Miggy happened on Omar Minaya, the GM of the NY Mets, and then we trapped the only other Fania All Star that I saw there that night , Johnny “El Maestro” Pacheco (I whispered in his ear that I had a crush on him since I was 16, and he said, “Now you tell me!”).


Miggy and Omar Minaya

Daisy, Johnny “El Maestro” Pacheco, and Miggy

Marc Anthony made a brief appearance, saying that he had been told to sing 2 songs, but he was going to do 4. He brought the house down with a wall shaking rendition of “Mi Gente”, but I felt like I had just managed to get a mere taste of the LaVoe experience.


On the way home, I felt disappointed that my appetite for the movie (I was really hungry for it) had not been satiated…too bad…they had some incredible material to work with.

12 Responses to “Crickets….crickets….”


  1. 1 Ray Broadway August 5, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    Maybe everybody is too jealous of a beautiful vacation on a tropical island while we all get stuck in a cloud of hot smog in the city!😉

  2. 2 Erica August 10, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    Daisy, I totally agree with you about the movie. It should have been called La Mujer del Cantante. I don’t know about you, but I left the movie theatre feeling depressed (my heart actually ached). It concentrated too much on Puchi and drugs and not on the true talent of the man we knew as Hector Lavoe. Anyway, you looked fierce at the premiere. : )

  3. 3 Danni August 12, 2007 at 11:05 am

    I am African American, but I have a interest in Latin Culture. Is is possible for you to explain does aguanile mean? What is Hector singing about in this song?

  4. 4 daisy August 16, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    Dear Ray:

    You are probably right! lol!!

  5. 5 daisy August 16, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    Erica:

    I think we all agree on this matter. Too bad! such a wonderful subject, so many possibilities..

    Daisy

  6. 6 daisy August 17, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    Hola Ray,
    Oh my goodness! I certainly hope not, lol!
    Hasta pronto,
    Daisy

  7. 7 tati September 23, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    Daisy, you looked fantastic! Love your hair this way, you look so sexy!

  8. 8 daisy September 24, 2007 at 9:37 am

    Querida Tati! Thanks! So many compliments, so little time!!

    Gracias,

    Daisy

  9. 9 Jose Luis Penaloza January 13, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    You should be a movie critic part time because you were right on the money on this movie,it didn’t do “el cantante de los cantantes” any justice.
    P.S. I agree with Erica 100% when she says that you look fierce at the premiere.

  10. 10 daisy January 14, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    Gracias Jose Luis!

    Saludos,

    Daisy


  1. 1 poker online Trackback on July 17, 2016 at 4:11 pm
  2. 2 Christmas Nail Art Trackback on August 22, 2016 at 6:43 am
Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

