Lions and Tigers and Bears, oh my!

Just as an FYI, I was shaken awake this morning by nothing less than a tornado. If I lived in Kansas, I guess that wouldn’t be so out of the blue, but in Brooklyn, NY, this is some seriously rare news! I immediately heard the boys running downstairs from the third floor, so I knew I hadn’t imagined it (of course, there was little doubt, as Roxie barked up a blue streak!). The whole thing lasted seconds, but it was enough to lay a smackdown on my poor historic neighborhood, the likes of which I can’t remember in the 19 years I have lived here. Trees that were over 100 years old are history, and trees as young as 25 years old have been devastated as well.

On the bright side, it appears no one on my block has been hurt (although there were a couple of close call funny stories!), although it breaks my heart to see so many of our beautiful trees laid to waste.

6 Responses to “Lions and Tigers and Bears, oh my!”


  1. 1 Bunny August 8, 2007 at 4:04 pm

    That is amazing and sad at the same time. All those beautiful tree’s. 😦

    Still, I’m glad no one was hurt and you and the fam is safe.

  2. 2 Wendy Polanco-Kimmey August 12, 2007 at 10:48 pm

    Querida Carifresca : That’s what happens after you have the whole Polanco clan over for barbeque!!! I hope the little red car is ok though!!!!. ja ja. Thanks for a wonderful time and great food on Saturday. Saludos, topollillo.

  3. 3 daisy August 17, 2007 at 9:59 am

    Hola Bunny,

    It was pretty scary, but like you said, it could have been a lot worse!

    oxoD

  4. 4 daisy August 17, 2007 at 10:09 am

    Mira Wendy (AKA Notorious Topollillo),

    It is always a pleasure to host the Polanco family!Whether it’s for barbeque or not is not relevant…I just have to make sure to have plenty of Presidente on hand!

    Hasta pronto,
    Carifresca

  5. 5 Jennifer September 15, 2007 at 11:42 am

    Hola Daisy,

    That storm was awful – I live in Manhattan on the 1st floor of a 5 story apt building amd somehow my whole kitchen floor was flooded the next morning…

    I’ve never posted here before, but I watch your show every week on PBS! Thanks for the wonderful recipes…

    Hope this isn’t too personal a question, but can you tell me what part of Brooklyn those pictures are taken in? I’ve never seen Brooklyn look like that before! It looks like the suburbs..!

    Muchas gracias!
    Jennifer

  6. 6 daisy September 15, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    Hola Jennifer,

    Welcome to Boriqua Blog and to the Prospect Park South neighborhood of Brooklyn, also known as Victorian Flatbush. We are Brooklyn’s best kept secret!
    I’m thrilled you are enjoying the show and the recipes.

    Hasta pronto,

    Daisy


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

