Me saludas a Abuela….

It causes me great sorrow to say, that this afternoon, at about 5:30 PM, I suffered a huge loss. Mami’s oldest sister, Maria, passed away, after a long struggle with emphysema which was further complicated by other issues.

Tia Maria was a pretty incredible woman, not to mention a dynamo in the kitchen. Papi would race to her house around the holidays for her pasteles en hoja, and her red beans were so good you could eat them with bread alone…her recipe for Arroz con Dulce is in my book ! She had a very dry sense of humor, and was quick to give solid advice (on my sixteenth birthday, “Girl, you want to open your eyes and close your legs!”), was incredibly independent (she kept her own house with chicken, turkeys, and house dogs) and tilled her own expansive yard (with banana trees, mango, pomme rosa, grapefruit, achiote bushes, gandules, and even yuca plants) made her own meals, and always had the foresight to send a plate of whatever to a neighbor in need. I can remember many times as a hungry college student, making a pit stop in her house on Essex St. on the Lower East Side, and having her set a quick place for me at her table. I could always count on Tia hooking me up with rice, beans, and some of her great pollo frito or carne guisada.

Tia never traveled much, she was always a “mujer de la casa”, but tonight she’s making a heck of a trip…and when she gets there, I want her to say hello to a very good friend of hers, and a very special person to me. Tia, tell Abuela that we miss her and we love her, much as you will be missed, now…thank you for your kindness, your guidance, and your love, and may God bless you and grant you light.

Tia Maria

18 Responses to “Me saludas a Abuela….”


  1. 1 Esmeralda August 29, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    Dear Daisy,

    What a lovely tribute to Tía María. My most sincere condolences to you and to your family.

    Hugs,

    Esmeralda

  2. 2 mercedes August 31, 2007 at 11:42 am

    Daisy, en verdad tu articulo me llego profundamente, pues sabemos lo afectuosa y el valor que tiene para ti tus familiares y amigos.Una vez mas confirmo los valores humanos que tienes. en la epoca en la cual estamos viviendo eres una persona muy especial, en verdad me siento privilegiada por conocerte y estar cerca de ti, con carino, dona miga

  3. 3 Meme September 2, 2007 at 9:46 am

    Prima,

    Mi más sentido pésame a todos por la pérdida de Tía María.

    Un abrazo,
    Memé

  4. 4 Wendy Polanco-Kimmey September 2, 2007 at 8:00 pm

    Daisy siento mucho que estes pasando por un momento tan triste. El ultimo parrafo de la historia de la tia Maria me hizo un nudo en la garganta. Espero que pronto te sientas mejor y que siempre te queden los gratos recuerdos que pasaste con tu tia. Estamos pensando en ti, mucha fuerza para seguir adelante. Besos, Wendy y Bill.

  5. 5 Max, Dodi, Little Max, Diego and Rodrigo September 2, 2007 at 9:05 pm

    Querida Daisy:

    Sentimos mucho tu dolor y te enviamos a ti y a toda tu familia nuestro mas sentido pesame. Estamos contigo y te mantendremos en nuestras oraciones.

    Con mucho carino,
    Los Roques

  6. 6 daisy September 3, 2007 at 11:12 am

    dona migua,
    gracias por sus palabras….yo le doy gracias a Dios que ha puesto una persona tan especial en mi camino.
    oxoDaisy

  7. 7 daisy September 3, 2007 at 11:15 am

    Esmeralda, que agradesco de corazon tus sentimientos tan dulces, que dichosa soy, poderte llamarte mi amiga. oxoDaiz

  8. 8 daisy September 3, 2007 at 11:17 am

    Wendy, gracias por acompanarme en estos dias tan doloroso. Son en estos tiempos que de verdad nececitamos de nuestra amistades. De verdad, no te considero amiga, si no, hermana. oxoDaisy

  9. 9 daisy September 3, 2007 at 11:20 am

    Prima, gracias por haber respondido tan carinosamente. Que Dios te bendiga. oxoDaisy

  10. 10 daisy September 3, 2007 at 11:22 am

    Querida Fa. Roque,
    No tengo las palabras para agradeserle sus sentimientos. Que Dios me los bendiga. oxoDaisy

  11. 11 Jason Perlow September 4, 2007 at 1:26 pm

    I just read this, I’m so sorry to hear about your loss.

  12. 12 daisy September 4, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    Thank you, Jay…I have been so touched by everyone’s sympathy.oxoD

  13. 13 Richard September 8, 2007 at 1:17 am

    Dear Daisy …

    We have just settled into our new home – it has been a hectic few weeks since arrving back from NY and we are still living among the boxes and sleeping in the living room. Today was the first time I had to check your blog and was saddened to hear of your loss. I know how much family means to you – everything in short – and I hope you know you are in my thoughts. There is surely much love in the air to accompany your Tia to her rest.

    xR

  14. 14 Bunny September 14, 2007 at 11:29 am

    Daiz,

    I’m so sorry to hear about this! I would have commented sooner, but I’ve been keeping up with your blog on LJ and this just showed up on my FL. I’m sorry it’s such a late reply.

    I’m sure she’s in a better place and cooking up a storm for all the angels.🙂

    *hugs*

  15. 15 daisy September 15, 2007 at 4:01 pm

    Thanks Bunny, No worries, I know how crazy your schedule is, and thank you for your kindness. oxoD

  16. 16 Livia November 16, 2007 at 8:28 am

    Please accept my condolences. I too had a Titi Maria. Aunts are very special, especially when they are thoughtful and full of wisdom. Your Titi like my Titi seem to be a girl’s best role model. God Bless her because she blessed you and your family with her Love.

    Que Dios te Bendiga y La Virgen te Acompane. : )

  17. 17 daisy November 16, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    Dear Livia:

    Thank you very much for your words..Tia Maria was a special kind of soul indeed, and she will always live in my heart..

    Gracia amiga,

    Daisy

  18. 18 TITO November 17, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    I AM VERY SORRY TO HEAR ABOUT YOUR MOMS SISTER DAISY, LIFE STARTS AND IT ENDS, THAT IS THE WAY IT IS…..I AM SURE SHE WILL BE MISSED. E-MAIL ME,

    bobby_colon@yahoo.com

    TITO COLON


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

