Rockin’ the Big E!

I had so much fun this past weekend. I was invited to be a part of the Eastern States Exposition, or as it is more affectionately known, The Big E! To call this venue “big” is the understatement of the century. It is the largest state fair in the northeast, boasting an attendance of 72,126 on Sunday alone, and the party lasts for 17 days!

We arrived to sunny skies and cool temperatures, ready to rock. After a brief “catch up’ with my comrade in crime for the day, Chef Jack, and Event Coordinator Howard Cowdrick. Wayne McCary, President of The Big E! came down to the beautiful set kitchen they had prepared for my visit for a personal hello.

Mr. Wayne McCary, President of The Big E! and Daisy


We got to work fairly quickly to prep as much aof the demo as was possible. This makes it much easier for me to interact with the audeience, answer questions, and generally enjoy my visit. We planned on making Chilaquiles and what I (or Puerto Ricans in general), call “salad”:  Lettuce, Tomato and Avocado Salad with an Anchovy-Garlic Dressing.


Daisy and Chef Jack prep chicken for Chilaquiles 

I never expected such a warm, and generous responce up in Springfield, Massachusetts. The turn out was huuuuge, and everyone was so generous. Of course, everyone wanted to know “what’s up with the show?”, and were happy to hear that we are very close to resolution (keep your fingers crossed!).


Battalion Chief Ismael Pomales and his lovely family, on the left front row 

We served the Chilaquiles and the salad and then got ready to  sign books and meet and greet (my favorite part of the demo!).


Daisy greeting guests and signing books 


Edward and Mindy Garcia (rabid fans) with Daisy 


Brenda, Deborah, Daisy, and Victor

After the signing, Miggy and I decided to take a walk and see the grounds. We were in now way prepared for the immensity of what The Big E! really was.  They even had their very own Mardi Gras Parade, complete with floats and everything. Howard told be the same people who make the floats in New Orleans for their Mardi Gras parade, make these floats, too! People really got into the spirit of things, throwing Mardi Gras beadds and everything.

Mardi Gras floats


A couple of enibriated enthusiastic locals welcome Daisy

It all went by all too quickly, and at last it was time to say goodbye, but not before thanking the incredible staff and volunteers at The Big E!


Chef Jack and Daisy


Culinary Staff Karen Authier Mary Anne Papas, Daisy, and Carol Fallon


Culinary volunteer, Chef Jack, Daisy and Event Coordinator Howard Cowdrick
Marketing Dept. Administrative Assistant Sue Gallup (thanks for taking care of the books, Sue) 

When I left the fairgrounds, the rides were all lit up, the smell of cotton candy and corn dogs was thick, and somewhere in the background, I could hear a salsa band playing. Never let it be said that New England doesn’t know how to rock a fair!

6 Responses to “Rockin’ the Big E!”


  1. 1 Bunny September 23, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    That’s amazing! Such a big turn out and interest in the show! Congrats hon!

  2. 2 Anita September 27, 2007 at 2:41 pm

    Hola Daisy:
    Your salad looks amazing. We had the best roasted corn at the Big E one year. Being from Brooklyn originally, I thought it was great seeing all of the people at the Big E walking around eating turkey legs. I hope your show gets started soon. We need a breath of fresh air from a food network. carino, Anita

  3. 3 daisy September 27, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    Dear Anita:

    We had a blast.

    What really amazed Migui and I was the size of the fair.

    I really hope to go back next year and enjoy it with my whole family. It is worth the trip!

    Daisy

  4. 5 Ray Gonzalez October 31, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    Hola, querida Daisy

    What do you have to do to become a regular on the Food Network? You really belong there. It’s difficult catching your show on Chn. 13,21 and 132 here on Long Island. You’re a breath of fresh air and your show makes me so proud of my parents roots and mine. Even though I’m more of a New York boriqua, my wife and I stay glued to your show when we catch it. Even our twenty something kids like it. Girl, you’re good!
    Regards, Ray Gonzalez

  5. 6 daisy November 1, 2007 at 12:10 pm

    Dear Ray:

    Thanks for writing and for your support

    I am working with new producers and making the rounds as we speak..The Food Network would be an amazing opportunity!

    I will keep you informed on my site on where we land next!

    Saludos Hermano,

    Daisy


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

