La Parranda

 

Merry Christmas y ¡Feliz Navidad!

LA PARRANDA, an original radio play by Esmeralda Santiago and Daisy Martinez, will premiere during the second half hour of NPR’s “All Things Considered” on Christmas Day, December 25.

To find your local station visit: http://www.npr.org/stations/

LA PARRANDA is about two sisters, one in Puerto Rico, the other in New York, whose relationship evolves over a twenty-five year period through phone calls on Christmas Day. The play is performed by Esmeralda Santiago and Daisy Martinez and features historical as well as contemporary Puerto Rican holiday music and traditions.

After broadcast, the radio play can be heard and/or downloaded from npr.org/podcast

Tell your friends!

Please help make LA PARRANDA the most downloaded program ever, on NPR!

6 Responses to “La Parranda”


  1. 1 Vanessa December 21, 2007 at 8:43 pm

    Dear Daisy, This sounds great! I’m a big fan of the both of you so I look forward to listening! May you and your family have a wonderful holiday in Buenos Aires (estoy tan celosa!) y que Dios te bendiga, Vanessa

  2. 2 daisy December 21, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    Happy Holidays to you and your loved ones Vanessa, and don’t forget to send feedback!

    Daisy

  3. 3 El Bohemio December 22, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    I posted this information on my site so my readers will be informed of it.Good Luck and Feliz Navidad! El Bohemio

  4. 4 daisy December 23, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    Thanks El Bohemio!!
    Happy Holidays…

  5. 5 Mike Delgado December 29, 2007 at 11:45 am

    Feliz Navidad, Daisy!
    I just heard La Parranda – congratulations to both you and Esmeralda on a wonderful play. While listening to it in the background (I was multitasking as usual) my mind brought back so many memories of when we were growing up here in the city and the ups and downs we experienced. Now that most of my family (parents, aunts, uncles, cousins – toda la patrulla I grew up with!) moved back to the island, I find myself here wishing things could go back to the old days. I miss them!
    I finally got to return to the island on Thanksgiving and had a great time. I even got to go to a couple of the patronales and saw La Ponceña y El Gran Combo perform – I loved it! No parrandas, though 😦 – we’ll have to do something about that!
    Anyway, hope you and the family are having a great time in Buenos Aires. Un Prospero Año Nuevo to you all.

  6. 6 daisy December 31, 2007 at 3:01 pm

    Dear Mike:

    Thanks for the feedback on the Parranda..Esmeralda and I are very proud of of it.

    Happy New Year to you too hermano!

    Daisy


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos


