Daisy TODAY!

I was invited to do a segment on the Today Show for their “Spice Up Your Winter” series, and made a Mariscada en Salsa Verde, which never fails to delight. We served it with my notorious Arroz Amarillo (yellow rice) and an Ensalada Valenciana.


Daisy and segment Producer Alicia Ybarbo


Security Officers (and rabid fans!) Joe LaSala and Rick Fosorile

Miggy documented it from her vantage point!


Ensalada Valenciana

Al Roker, Daisy, Ann Curry and Maria Menounos

The hosts were all very gracious, and right before the segment ended,  Hoda Kotb rushed in, following the fragrant aromas that were eminating from the kitchen. Everybody loved it and the food looked gorgeous!


Al Roker, Daisy, Ann Curry, Maria Menounos, and Hoda Kotb on the TODAY Show

I can’t wait for my next visit with this incredibly fun crew!

13 Responses to “Daisy TODAY!”


  1. 1 Bunny January 16, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Fantastic! Now I gotta go find a download of this. 🙂

  2. 2 Edith Salas March 2, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    Hello Daisy,

    We are very proud of you.

    I am making recipes from your book and most of them come out perfect and delicious.

    Edith

  3. 3 daisy March 2, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    Thank you for your lovely words and sentiments, Edith. I’m thrilled that you are enjoying the book. Thanks for your support!
    oxoDaisy

  4. 4 daisy March 3, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Hola Lima Bean? (Since you were not brave enough to identify yourself)

    Wow! You have totally got me pegged! After following me for all this time (I’m guessing 2005 when the show first aired) and keeping track of my progress(?), you have deduced that I have changed into phony in ritzy clothes who sports $200 haircuts. I marvel at your astute ability to identify these traits in a woman whose money goes to pay not one, but two college tuitions; I shop at Marshalls and one of my best friends cuts my hair…for free I might add. I do not define myself by what rags I carry on my back or how short my hair is, but rather by providing for and tending my family, and giving them an example and the opportunity to grow into productive, intelligent adults who will be an asset to their community and a source of pride to their fellow Latinos. I can only hope to continue to grow and evolve until the day God calls me home. Stagnation is death.
    But hey, you go ahead and keep on keepin’ on. Thanks for your invaluable insight. It was the best laugh I’ve had in a long time.
    Siempre P’alante,
    Daisy

  5. 5 Mike Delgado March 3, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Hola Daisy,
    I’m sorry to see that those like Lima Bean look at you from afar and make snap judgments based on how you look and what you wear. It sounds to me that people like that cannot (or will not) celebrate another’s success without throwing in some pettiness. Even though Lima Bean didn’t deserve a response from you, I’m glad to see you took it from where it came from and left it where it belonged.
    Personally, I like your new look. Why not showcase the the splendor of our latinas by one of its most beautiful ambassadors – you go, hermana! It’s OK to enjoy the fruits of our hard labor every so often without having to explain it to others. And having had the pleasure of attending one of your demonstrations, I can say unequivocally that you are far from phony. I never felt so relaxed and at home – and we were outdoors in 80+ degree weather! It’s very easy to hang with you.
    I got the following from Paulo Coelho’s Warrior of the Light website – hopefully some people will get it:

    Learning to see

    Buddha gathered his disciples and showed them a lotus flower.

    “I want you to tell me something about what I hold in my hand.”

    The first gave a whole treaty on the importance of flowers. The second composed a lovely poem about its petals. The third invented a parable using the flower as an example.

    Now it was Mahakashyap’s turn. He came up to Buddha, smelt the flower, and caressed his face with one of the petals.

    “This is a lotus flower,” said Mahakashyap. “Simple, like everything that comes from God. And beautiful, like everything that comes from God.”

    “You were the only one who saw what I hold in my hand,” was Buddha’s comment.

    P’alante, bella!
    Mike

  6. 6 daisy March 3, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Hola Mike,
    Thanks for your kind and warm response, as well as your support. Your Coehlo quote moved me to tears. You are generous beyond description and so very sweet. I will continue to attempt to portray my people and our culture in the beautiful and positive light it deserves. Thank you.
    Abrazos, ‘
    Daisy
    P.S. That afternoon in the Botanical Gadens is one of my fave memories from last year. Glad you were there to share it.

  7. 7 milagros diaz March 6, 2008 at 12:39 am

    estimada hermanita boricua, mil gracias for bringing our delicious food to our livingrooms. I love to cook and It is always a pleasure watching our food on television. Estoy muy orgullosa y muy agradecida. my food always tastes better when i cook to our music and play the pots and pans to the rhythms. Love your show!

  8. 8 daisy March 6, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Querida Milagros! You got that right!

    Food and music together: a perfect combination that works wonders!!

    Gracias hermana por tu apoyo y bellas palabras..

    Saludos,

    Daisy

  9. 9 Vincent A. Rochester, II March 6, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    I have taken the time to read various comments by the people who visit your site. There seems to be a commonality shared on almost every thread, and I wanted to take the time to add my thoughts as well.

    Firstly, your love for cooking and the sheer joy that it appears to bring to everyone that watches, demonstrates that you are truly working in your devine ministry that God has bestowed upon you.

    Second, you are not only a role model for the Latino community, but for all people from the Caribbean and the rest of the world who can admire your talents and your ability to make people want to re-discover and celebrate their heritage through our food.

    Lastly, you seem like the kind of woman who would come to a party, take her coat off, come into the kitchen, and honestly say, “How may I help you,” and mean it! I know being at any event that you hosted or attended would be a real party, because your personality and aura exudes realness – and what a breath of fresh air and kindness you truly are.

    As a fellow taurus (April 28) you know that we are great judges of character and I truly consider you to be a friend in my head. In closing, keep on doing what you do, and you will continue making all of us proud of your culinary skills and your ability to promote love and a sweet spirit through food!

    May God continue to bestow his blessings upon you and your family always.

    Sincerely,
    Vincent A. Rochester, II
    your Taurus buddy

  10. 10 daisy March 7, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    Hola Vincent, and thank you for your very kind words. I make a strong effort to represent my people in the best possible light…I feel it is quite a responsibility and I’m grateful that you recognize my intentions.
    I am TOTALLY the girl who gets to a party, heads for the kitchen, and rolls up her sleeves…each and every time! It’s the way my Mami and Abuela taught me, and everytime I perform a small function like that (it is my pleasure, truth be told) I do them honor.
    Gracias, hermano, and God bless you.
    oxoDaisy

  11. 11 Vanessa March 17, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    Hola Daisy,

    I hope you’re doing well. I was sorry to miss this segment on the Today show. All I have to say is, it is a damn shame you don’t have your own tv show on a major network. Your talent and personality are sorely lacking in the television world!! What is going on??!!!

    Take care and keep on making us boricuas proud!!

    Vanessa

    P.S. I always wanted to know, what recipe are you showcasing on the cover of your book?

  12. 12 daisy March 17, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Dear Vanessa:

    The recipe on the cover is my “delicioso” Brazo Gitano!

    Saludos hermana!

  13. 13 daisy March 17, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Dear Vanessa:

    The recipe on the cover is my “delicioso” Brazo Gitano!

    Saludos hermana!


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

