March 2008

Lion or Lamb…What’ll It Be?

The suspense is killing me! March has to be one of the most difficult months for me, because I am all pent up with the anticipation of Spring and all of the wonderfulness that comes with it! We are weeks away from Spring lamb, and soft shell crabs, and morels… .fiddlehead ferns, briny shad roe, and fresh fava beans from the Fairway!! Come to mama!
This is going to be a great Spring for celebrations in our family, too. Marc graduates Arcadia University this May (wait! Did I just say that Skeets is graduating??!), Erik hears from his med school applications (send us a prayer!), David discovers where he’ll be doing his Junior Year Abroad (Dublin? Barcelona? Buenos Aires?), and Angela? Well, Let’s just say that Angela is giving us a good glimpse at the amazing young woman she’s growing into. God is good, for sure, and Spring is as good a time as any to give thanks for all we have and the reawakening of all things green.
Spring is synonymous with lamb in my home, but lets face it… there is still a chill in the March air, so this month’s recipes include Estofado de Cordero, or Lamb Stew, and Torta de Santiago or Almond Cake washed down with a delicious Café con Leche. Tastes like Spring to me!
I will be cooking at The NY Times Travel Show this Sunday March 2nd at the Jacob Javits Convention Center at noon, making some season sensitive Bacalao Guisado con Berenjena served with Tostones, so make sure you drop by and say hello. The New York Times is so cool that they will be serving a taste of what I make for everyone, so besides my fabulous company, you get fed as well!

Here is a picture of the show we did in Boston last Friday, February 22 at the Boston Seaport:
Podium

Here’s the view from my vantage point:
Audience
Much fun was had by all, thanks to the NY Times staff and emcee, Doug Duda, and I’m really looking forward to the sister event here in The Big Apple, so be there or be square!
I’ll also be working on the Spoons Across America Dinner Party Project with Marc Twain Intermediate School again this Spring. Every Monday I will assist the group of 7th graders and their Home Economics teacher, Karen Silverman, to plan and execute a dinner party to which the children will invite their families. We will work together every week, and hold our dinner party on April 14th. I will be sure to keep you posted on our progress.
Well, I have some Easter baskets that I have to get to, so I’ll wish you all a lovely Holiday, and look forward to seeing you over on Boriqua Blog.

Lamb or lion, it’s all good! Buen Provecho!

2 Responses to “March 2008”


  1. 1 Richard April 10, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    Daiz … Hope the “Spoons” sinner is a hit – I’m sure it will be!
    Thinking of you …
    Best,
    Richard

  2. 2 Daisy April 11, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Richard:

    The Dinner will be great, I am sure. The kids are really something else!

    oxo

    D


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

