Jonesin’ for Jones on a Wild Weekend

My family and I found ourselves in sunny Philadelphia yesterday for Arcadia University‘s production of The Tempest, which just happens to be my son Marc’s Senior year production. Shakespeare always makes me hungry, so after such stellar thespian performances, we decided to stop in town for a nice dinner before we headed back home to Brooklyn.


Marc as Antonio in The Tempest (on the far right)

Where to go? Philadelphia offers such an array and variety of fabulous restaurants, but nothing quite says comfort food to me quite as eloquently as Jones Restaurant in Central Philly, one of Stephen Starr’s “theme” eateries in town. The fact that Executive Chef Steven Petrecca is married to that doyenne of fabulosity known as Jennifer Cohan, might have influenced my decision to go there, but no argument was as compelling as this:


Ladies and gentlemen, I give you the incomparable Luca Petrecca! There is no way I can even start to tell you how wonderful and delicious this baby is! But I digress…

Chef Steven sent out some extraordinary mac and cheese that was so inviting, I never got a chance to take a picture. My family descended on those two bowls like a hoard of beasts, I’m sorry to say, but I can guarantee you that the mac and cheese alone was worth the trip. When the following apps of Cobb Salad, Chicken and Rock Shrimp Dumplings, and Seared Tuna Tacos, I warded them off long enough to get the picture, before those, too were devoured.

Cobb Salad (The blue cheese in combination with the bacon is what makes me wax poetic about this salad!)


Chicken and Rock Shrimp Dumplings with Sweet Soy and Chile Oil

Seared Tuna Tacos


I love the vibe at Jones, almost as much as the food and the chef, which is retro without being hipster. It’s fun in an almost kitchsy way, without being obvious, and they make a killer martini! We placed orders for comfy entrees that included Meat Loaf with Whipped Potatoes and Buttered Peas, Fried Chicken with Gravy and Waffles, and Crab Cakes with Cole Slaw and French Fries. Chef Steven was featuring a beautiful Striped Bass with Potatoes and Red Cabbage as well as Grilled Scallops with a Savory Orzo Salad, which we ordered and found to be delicious. The seafood was impeccably fresh and was delicately framed by the accompanying sides (the red cabbage for the bass and the pasta for the sweet scallops…I’m definitely trying those at home!).

Meatloaf and Gravy


Fried Chicken and WafflesCrab Cakes


Striped Bass with Potatoes and Red Cabbage

Sooooooo good! We decided we would pass on dessert, to which my girl Jennifer replied:

Say whaaat?

As if on cue, our lovely waitress, Kelly, delivered a Brownie Sundae Cake which was an outright sin. Deep dark chocolate brownie cake with a thick layer of creamy vanilla ice cream with gooey chocolate sauce and whipped cream! *SWOON*Brownie Cake

This is a stop you’ll definitely want to make the next time you find yourself in Central Philly, or maybe you’ll make the trip just because…believe me, the mac and cheese alone justifies it, the rest of it is just gravy!


Executive Chef Steven Petrecca and his main man Luca at Jones Restaurant

Jones Restaurant 7oo Chestnut St Philadelphia, PA 215 223-5663

http://jones-restaurant.com/

*EDIT*

The gorgeous Jennifer did not like the picture I posted, so I am posting this one to showcase her gorgeousness!

23 Responses to “Jonesin’ for Jones on a Wild Weekend”


  1. 1 Bunny March 3, 2008 at 2:04 am

    I don’t know what is yummier; Luca or that brownie cake. o.O

  2. 2 daisy March 3, 2008 at 9:20 am

    It’s close, but my vote goes to Luca. This baby actually POSES for the camera. He is too unbelievably adorable!

  3. 3 Jennifer March 3, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    Luca’s Mom looks like Joe Camel…and I know, because I’m Luca’s Mom!

  4. 4 Margarita March 3, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    Luca is a cutie.

  5. 5 daisy March 3, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    Cutie doesn’t start to describe him, Dodi!

  6. 6 Jennifer March 4, 2008 at 10:09 am

    Please change “gorgeous Jennifer” to high maintenance Yenta Jennifer. XO

  7. 8 Lyzz March 4, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    what a gorgeous child.. and what a gorgeous dessert!!

  8. 9 daisy March 4, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    I totally agree Lyzz!

  9. 10 Luca's Grammy di April 6, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    Thank you Sra Daisy for giving me yet another look at my precious Grandbaby Luca. He is soooo far away your good pics and sweet words make the distance melt. Love, Diane Cohan in Santa Cru, CA

  10. 11 daisy April 6, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    It’s certainly my pleasure, Diane!

  11. 12 "Auntie" Rona April 6, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    I don’t know what looked more delicious, baby Lucca or thetuna tacos, chicken and rock dumplings or the stripped bass. Of course I will go for mac and cheese anytime. I think it is getting to be time to look for those black and white check chefs pants in a toddler two size! Where can I find them?

  12. 13 Cousin Joanie April 7, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    Baby Luca ‘takes the cake’ anytime in my book, and I
    am a real cake lover! Thank you for your kind and wonderful words and pictures. I’m lovin Jones’ Resturant and Philly more and more. By the way ‘Marc’ looks like he is enjoying his part as Antonio. Hugs, Cousin Joanie, CA

  13. 14 daisy April 7, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    I can answer unequivocally that Luca was the most delicious dish in that restaurant! Just the sight of him makes my mouth water!…and trust me, that is no reflection on the marvel of Chef Steven’s delightful cuisine!

    oxoD


  1. 1 juice machine Trackback on September 28, 2014 at 8:26 am
  2. 2 lawyer details Trackback on September 28, 2014 at 10:53 am
  3. 3 how to pack vortex bowl Trackback on September 29, 2014 at 3:10 am
  4. 4 car accident injury lawyer sacramento ca Trackback on October 2, 2014 at 12:24 am
  5. 5 omega juicer model 1000 Trackback on October 4, 2014 at 2:52 am
  6. 6 omega juicer nutrition center Trackback on October 5, 2014 at 12:02 am
  7. 7 omega juicer not turning on Trackback on October 5, 2014 at 4:40 pm
  8. 8 10 Dollar Google Play Card Code Trackback on May 12, 2016 at 9:48 pm
  9. 9 roulette betting system Trackback on October 16, 2016 at 8:53 am
Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

