….Isn’t she lovely?…Isn’t she wonderful…?

I crossed a very significant milestone in my life tonight. It wasn’t an act of earth shattering difference, but it was very significant to me. I know you might think that this is me on the drama soapbox again, but truth of the matter is, I really find myself introspecting about things which I have previously thought of as mundane. My youngest child, my daughter Angela, turned 13 today.

No biggy, right? I mean, I’ve done this three times before with the boys, with not so much as a blink, by me, other than of course, taking care of the festivities. But it’s come to me that this is it…no more babies in the nest. She is starting to spread her pretty little fledgling wings, and I am not anticipating her solo ventures (although of course I will support her growing into a strong, intelligent independent young woman).

We went to dinner at Blue Ribbon Park Slope, because Erik was working tonight and wanted to see her to give her his present, but also because it’s one of the places she loves. She ordered her Shirley Temple, and asked for the Lobster Dinner, while Jerry and I watched her, almost furtively, afraid to see the young woman morph out of the perfect chrysalis of her girlhood right before our eyes.

How proud am I of this little girl, who is growing into such a compassionate, intuitive, brilliant and beautiful young woman? Thirteen years ago, tonight, she entered my life and changed it forever…tomorrow, I must start to prepare for her departure into the adventure that will be the rest of her life.

Sigh…I guess I can hope for grandchildren, one day…

12 Responses to “….Isn’t she lovely?…Isn’t she wonderful…?”


  1. 1 Bunny April 5, 2008 at 12:47 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, ANGIE!!!

    Aw, you must be so proud.😀 *hugs*

    I hope to talk to you soon! I’ve been working a lot of nights, so I haven’t been online as much as I have, but I’ll keep an eye out for you.

  2. 2 Lisa5 April 5, 2008 at 7:25 am

    Your daughter is so beautiful. You might have to watch out for all those boys that’ll be after her in the near future……lol…..just kidding.

    I have 2 daughters and a son and I love them so much. I know your daughter will have great success just like her mom🙂

    God bless!

  3. 3 daisy April 5, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    Hi Bunny Girl! Thank you so much. I am so proud i could burst, and yes, we definitely have to catch up!

  4. 4 daisy April 5, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    Lisa,
    I’m feeling you, girl! I am rabid when it comes to my kids! I am truly their greatest fan! And don’t give those boys a second thought…they have three brothers and her daddy to get through first, lol!😉

  5. 5 Mike Delgado April 6, 2008 at 1:04 am

    Hi Daisy, and…
    Happy Birthday Angie!

    What a beautiful young lady. Que Dios la bendiga.

    It’s amazing how quickly time flies by when it comes to our children. I still remember when they handed me my son after delivery – that’s almost 21 years ago now! The impression they leave on us is nothing short of miraculous. I could not imagine our lives without him.

    And I agree that the girls hold a different grasp on us than the boys. I’m not sure why, but when my Goddaughter graduated high school and moved out of her house, I felt such a loss that it was weird. I can imagine how my cousin felt since it was HIS daughter who moved out!

    Anyway, all we can hope is that we did our best in raising them and watch and support them as they become beautiful, loving, and caring members of society themselves (and yes, wait for the grandchildren to come so we can spoil them rotten!).

    All the best to you and your family. And wishing Angie all the best on her birthday.

    Mike

    PS – If thirteen is such a milestone, just wait for quinceañera – even I was crying for that one!

  6. 6 daisy April 6, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    Thanks, Mike! I can always count on you to leave lovely sentiments! Hope all is well!

  7. 7 nprosario April 8, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    HI Daisy! She’s gorgeous. What a winninig smile! and I bet she has a winning personality like her mother!!🙂
    Kids are so precious. Im 37 and have a 2 1/2 year old grandson. He’s adorable, so I know how precious time flies by. Enjoy every moment and make sure you capture it on film and on the blog for us to enjoy!🙂

    I’ve been trying to email you. Do you have the recipe for relleno de platano maduro? Also that smoked pork bone in the rice has won me more than my fair share of compliments! Thanks alot!🙂

    Que Dios te bendiga a ti y tu hija!

  8. 8 daisy April 9, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    Hello NPRosario!

    Thank you for your support and wonderful words..

    I have a wonderful recipe for rellenos de maduro in my book, Daisy Cooks! (Hyperion 2005)..

    Saludos,

    Daisy

  9. 9 Lyzz May 2, 2008 at 9:20 am

    Happy Birthday to your beautiful daughter!! My daughter Savannah turned 13 as well on 4/30 so I know exactly how you feel.. Where did the time go?

  10. 10 daisy May 2, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    Happy Birthday to Savannah! Our girls do us proud, don’t they?

  11. 11 lily May 3, 2008 at 12:39 am

    how adorable! she is your mini-me🙂

  12. 12 daisy May 3, 2008 at 9:27 am

    Thank you, Lianna. She totally is my Mini-me! I am her biggest fan!


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

