Pomme de Terre…the Local Apple of my Eye

It’s been a long time since Jerry and I had a date night, but Erik bought tickets to Hairspray for Angela’s birthday, so they went off to the theatre, and Jerry and I headed for the new spot in the neighborhood, Pomme de Terre, which is brought to you by the same fine folk from The Farm on Adderley on Courtelyou Road. Cute and cozy as a button, we arrived without reservations at 6:30 to fine the place already packed with a cheery crowd from the neighborhood. Wow….I’m thinking good news travels fast! It has a charming exterior painted blue and yellow, and pretty tile bistro floors with exposed brick walls, making it feel inviting right off the start…but I’m not here for the decor, right?Dining Room at Pomme de Terre

After enjoying a glass of Cahors at the bar, we were seated at an intimate little table for two, and presented with menus that were full of lovely bistro fare. Jerry enjoyed a bottle of Thierry Blonde French beer, while he perused the menu.

Everything sounded so very good that we decided to order three appetizers. I went for the Cream of Cauliflower Soup with Rock Shrimp garnish, while Jerry opted for the Potato-Leek Tart, and the Mixed Greens with Bacon and Blue Cheese. The soup arrived nice and hot (you know my pet peeve about soup that’s not hot!), with a velvety texture, and perfectly seasoned. One might argue that cauliflower is nothing to get excited about, but I am here to tell you, I could have easily made a meal out of that soup…it was that satisfying!


Cream of Cauliflower Soup

The Potato-Leek Tart did not fail to impress, either. Crisp and flaky, the crust stood up to the filling of Potato and Leek, offering the perfect contrast to the creamy filling. The mixed green salad with crispy, salty lardons, crunchy, bitter radicchio and a perfectly poached egg, was also good enough to serve as a meal. Pass the crusty bread, and a glass of Cahors and this girl is good to go. With the appetizers scoring a grand slam, I could barely contain my excitement while waiting for the entrees.


Mixed Green Salad with Bacon and Blue Cheese

Potato Leek Tart

I opted for the Steak au Poivre and Frite, and Jerry chose the Braised Skate Wing. Both entrees arrived and tickled us visually immediately. The steak looked crusty and juicy and the frites were hot and crispy. Jerry’s skate wing was beautiful, as well, and we both tucked in with eager appetites. The skate was moist and cooked perfectly with briny, little capers making the perfect foil to the buttery fish, which was also perfectly seasoned and accompanied by a quicky sauteed, barely sweated mound of spinach leaves. I did not fare quite as well, I’m sorry to say, although not through any of the chef’s fault, it would seem. Apparently, the secret ingredient in the chef’s au poivre is szechuan peppercorn, which acts as a local anesthetic to me; two bites into the steak my mouth was completely numb, and I couldn’t taste anything else. I cannot begin to tell you what a strange feeling that is, because the sensation does not end when you swallow the food. I looked at Jerry and said, “the only thing in the world that makes me feel like this are szechuan peppercorns”, so I asked the waiter what was in the au poivre. He came back with the expected answer, and so that was that.

Braised Skate Wing

Steak au Poivre

I decided to make it up with an extra dessert, and that put us right back on track. The Warm Chocolate Cake with Vanilla Ice Cream and Passion Fruit Sauce was nothing short of wonderful, and the Apple Tarte Tartin with Fromage Blanc Ice Cream was so delicious that Jerry practically ate the entire thing himself, but the dessert that set me swooning was a seductively creamy Banana Caramel Pots de Creme (I get a chill just thinking about it!) with a layer of fresh bananas on top that was sprinkled with sugar, and then broiled to a crackly finish. Lawdy lawd!


Warm Chocolate CakeApple Tart Tartin


Banana Caramel Pots de Creme

By the time we finished, the line was four deep, with about five parties waiting for tables (note to self: next time you come here, make sure you have reservations), but I wanted to make sure that I made my way to the kitchen to thank Executive Chef David Pitula for putting out such wonderfully executed food, and welcome him to my neighborhood. With stints in Napa Valley at Tre Vigne, and East Coast experience that includes Aquavit and Picholine, this home boy has come to roost in beautiful Victorian Flatbush. Welcome, Chef David…make yourself at home!

Pomme de Terre

1301 Newkirk Avenue cr. of Argyle Road

Brooklyn, New York

4 Responses to “Pomme de Terre…the Local Apple of my Eye”


  1. 1 Bunny April 10, 2008 at 1:49 am

    Oh, that is so not fair. I’m drooling. 😛

    HI JERRY!!!!

  2. 2 daisy April 10, 2008 at 8:17 am

    It was a great meal, with the exception of the peppercorn mishap….funny, I don’t remember seeing it mentioned on the menu…I would have ordered something else, otherwise. I’ll definitely be making a return visit! Jerry says Hi back!
    oxoDaiz

  3. 3 penny wolfsohn June 2, 2008 at 11:23 am

    Hi Daisy.
    I am happy to say I discovered your show in April ’07 while I was recuperating from a surgery and was surfing the channels. What a ‘breath of fresh air” you are to me, and I discovered Latin American cooking to boot!
    I wondered if we share the same May birthday; mine is the 15th.? I live in the wine country in Santa Rosa, California.
    I have been unable to find your show since I changed to a new Dish system and wonder if you can tell me what channel you are on ? Another question; would it be possible to give your fans a little translation on some of the words you use in your newletter,, such as Borigua. I do speak a little Spanish, but that word is not familiar to me.
    Keep on bubbling!!
    Your appreciative viewer, Penny

  4. 4 daisy June 2, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    Dear Penny : Thanks for writing..

    My birthday is not on the 15th, but happy belated birthday to you!

    The shows’s cycle on PBS has come to an end, but we are currently working on a new show, on a major network.

    Keep visiting wwww.daisymartinez.com or http://www.boriquablog.com for updates!

    Daisy


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

