Oops! They Did It, Again!

This past Monday, April 14, Mrs. Karen Silverman and I worked in tandem with the James Beard Foundation to host the Spoons Across America Dinner Party Project at Mark Twain I.S. 239 in Brooklyn for the second time in two years. I must say that although last years class left some pretty big shoes to fill, I had an immeasurable feeling of satisfaction, not just as a teacher, but also as a parent, because my daughter Angela is one of Mrs. Silverman’s students in this class. I was also accompanied by a team of volunteer chefs who came to help execute the mission, which was to host a formal dinner party for 120 guests that evening. The day started (for the students) at 8:00 AM with groups assigned to specific recipes.

Our menu was pretty ambitious, for a group of 7th graders, but with my team in place, I was confident that the kids would pull through. I can say in all honesty, that I was not prepared for the the terrific job they did. Chef Alejandro worked with Group 6 on the Pork Loin Roulades Stuffed with Roasted Red Peppers and Sweet Plantain Mash, Chef Pete worked with Groups 1 and 2 on the Chicken Kiev, Chef Gabriela worked with Group 3 on the Tiger Eye Rolls, the Pink Flamingo Sauce and the Caesar Salad, Chef Yamaris worked with Group 4 on the Catalan Spinach, and Coconut Panna Cotta with Tropical Fruit Brunoise, I manned the station on Group 5 to execute Julia Child’s recipe for Pomme Dauphinois, and Mrs Silverman went from group to group, helping the class wherever it was needed.

While it was no small task that was put in front of them, the kids faced their work with enthusiasm and good cheer, and everyone was well engrossed in their respective assignments in no time flat.


I have to admit that I was pretty impressed by how industrious this class was, and they were certainly a credit to Mrs. Silverman. They chopped, peeled, pureed, poured, rolled, sliced, simmered, and seared through the entire morning, before we packed the operation up and headed for the school cafeteria, where we would set up the kitchen for service and decorate the cafeteria dining room for our dinner party.


Not too shabby for a class of 7th graders, eh? Once downstairs the class set up the kitchen, and hunkered down to dress the tables with linens , practice their napkin folding techniques, place the table settings, and fill out the place cards for their guests. Mrs. Louzonis, the Art Talent teacher and her charges had, in addition to executing the invitation the class had designed, painted a beautiful backdrop featuring the countries that our menu showcased and made beautiful matching centerpieces for the tables.



When we were finished, our dining room looked like this:

Now we were ready for our party! We even had the local media come in to do interviews with the students!

Mrs. Carol Moore, Principal had our menus printed up beautifully, to be placed at each setting.

The children met their guests at the door, and our party had begun, while my kitchen ninjas worked their magic in the back. We greeted our guests with an amuse bouche of Tiger Eye Rolls and sparkling cider (would you prefer red, or white?).

As if all of this were not enough, we had musical accompaniment by Twain’s very own Mariachi Band!

Mrs. Moore introduced the Class of 7B and myself, and then…the moment of truth was at hand!


The children lined up at the service line and took out plate after plate of the meal they had been preparing all day.

Needless to say, our dinner party was a huge success! Our guests could not believe what an incredible job had been executed by 7B, who rocked that kitchen all day long. Special thanks to my crew that helped me immensely throughout the day guiding the class through the project, and of course to Mrs. Silverman and Mrs. Moore for their incredible support throughout this venture.


Chefs Pete, Gabrila, Sui-Yeng, Angela, Daisy, Yamaris and Alejandro


Mrs. Karen Silverman and Mrs. Carol Moore

and of course,


Class 7B!!!

16 Responses to “Oops! They Did It, Again!”


  1. 1 Christian Estevez April 17, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    Daisy,

    You are the coolest! Keep up the great work.

    Christian

  2. 2 daisy April 17, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    Thank you Christian! You are far too kind!

    Daisy

  3. 3 Gabriela April 17, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    Dear Daisy:
    I would like to thank you so much for this opportunity. Working with you and with class 7B was a great experience and I loved it. I really hope to do it again
    soon !!!..Cuenta conmigo cuando me necesites!!!
    Un beso y abrazo.
    Love
    Gaby

  4. 4 Tiffany April 18, 2008 at 1:27 am

    Daisy I truly admire the type of mother you are! It seems to me that your involved in your daughter’s life in such a positive way! I think that is awesome!

  5. 5 daisy April 18, 2008 at 8:33 am

    Gaby, are you KIDDING me? You guys were awesome, and I am incredibly grateful for all the hard work you put in with the kids. I truly look forward to working side by side with you agin!
    oxoDaiz

  6. 6 daisy April 18, 2008 at 8:36 am

    Tiffany, it always amazes me when people compliment me on my mothering! I wouldn’t know what else to do, other than try to make a positive impact on my children…its my reason for being here! lol! You are very generous, thank you so much😀
    Daisy

  7. 7 Jennifer P. April 21, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    OMG! I LOVED THE PARTY! IT WAS SO MUCH FUN! THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH!!!!!!!

  8. 8 daisy April 22, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Dear Jennifer: THANK YOU! Good job everyone!

    Daisy

  9. 9 Karen Silverman April 23, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    Dear Daisy and my 7B class,
    You all worked so hard, and it surely paid off! Our Dinner Party was fabulous! It was lots of work, but it was great fun! It really paid off! Thank you Daisy, Migui, our chefs, Mrs. Moore, Mr. Seif, Mrs. Chung, Ms. Conenna, Mrs. Louzonis, Ms. Checkett, Tammy, Linda, Judy, Marlene, Carl, Diane, and everybody else at Mark Twain who helped us. hope to see you soon.
    Love, Mrs. Silverman

  10. 10 daisy April 23, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    Hip hip, hooooraaaaaaay!!!!!

  11. 11 Lynda May 2, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    Daisy!
    What an awesome Dinner Party!!!!
    I cannot thank you enough for creating so many amazing learning opportunities for the hospitality management students at City Tech! They adored working with the children and were blown away by Mrs. Silverman’s talented students.

    You are a natural teacher and our students continue to benefit on so many levels because you so generously share your skills, knowledge and passion!

    With much admiration and respect,

    Lynda Dias
    New York City College of Technology

  12. 12 daisy May 2, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    Lynda,
    As much as I have to share with them, they give back ten times over! Your students are an incredibly remarkable bunch, and I count myself lucky to work with them. CAn’t wait to see you next week!

  13. 13 Lianna May 3, 2008 at 12:38 am

    the food looks absolutely delicious!🙂

  14. 14 daisy May 3, 2008 at 9:25 am

    It really WAS delicious!! I was so proud of the kids…they did a great job!

  15. 15 Julie May 12, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    Dear Mrs. Daisy

    Thank you so much for giving us this opportunity to participate in this event. I had a BLAST and my parents really enjoyed it.

    Thank you

    — Julie Chan

  16. 16 daisy May 12, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    Thank YOU Julie for your hard work and priceless contribution..

    Please pat yourself in the back for a job well done,

    Take care,

    Daisy


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

