Happy Birthday to Me!

I had the most fantabulous birthday party in the history of birthday parties last weekend to celebrate my turning 50 years old. This is not me gushing or exaggerating (I know I’ve been known to do this), I assure you. I was surrounded by my family and friends, we sang karaoke, laughed, drank and ate the whole night through.

One of the highlights of the evening had to be my multi-talented friend Sam Velez, who brought down the house with his rendition of Marc Anthony’s “You Sang to Me”.

Sam Velez channels Marc Anthony


Marking a milestone like your semi centennial is a pretty important event in a girl’s life! What moved me was that everyone was committed to have a great time while helping me make memories of this of this monumental event in my life. Take a peek for yourself!

David, Chris and Tommy

Edna and Violette looking fabulous

Tia Nery, Mami, me and Papi

Jerry Liu and Moi

The Sofrito Girls make merry!

Ms. Anna Nurse and Rosemary Farrell

Karen Di Peri and the Migs!

Angie and Johnny Young cover “One is the Loneliest Number”

Angela works it!!


My fabulous Sofrito Girls: Angela, me, Jennifer, Christina, Miggy, Loni and Violette


“We are family…I got all my sisters with me!”


Is there a Sofrito Bro’s in the future?

There are just too many pictures to post; you can see them all up on my Flickr page, and I encourage you to do so, they are that good! Thank you for all of your good wishes on this momentous day; at a time where one takes personal inventory, I can say without any hesitation at all, that I am one the most blessed women that I know, and I want to always remember to thank God for all of the blessings he has bestowed upon my family and myself.

Photos courtesy of:

Claudio Musajo
cmusajo@earthlink.net
917 309-4108

18 Responses to “Happy Birthday to Me!”


  1. 1 Bunny May 17, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    I’m so happy you had a good time. I wish I was there to celebrate it with you. *HUGS*

  2. 2 daisy May 18, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Thanks darlin’! It would have been great to have you!
    oxoD

  3. 3 Lisa May 18, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Daisy, you are amazing. How do you keep yourself looking so young? You make 50 look really good. I hope I look like you at 50.. By the way, I’m 33🙂

    Hope you had a marvelous birthday. Happy Belated:)

    Where is your show??? My mom in law and I miss you!

  4. 4 daisy May 19, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    Thank you Lisa..so many compliments!

    I had a great time on my birthday, surrounded by family and friends, what else can one ask for!

    Saludos,

    Daisy

  5. 5 Moraima May 19, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    Daisy, best wishes once again on your birthday!
    All of the photos came out fabulous and… of course, you look awesome! You are definetly a blessed woman. Hope to see you soon on your show. I know that you will probably be on the FOOD NETWORK soon. They could use some sofrito flava. haha!

    con carino,
    Moraima

  6. 6 Johnny and Paula May 19, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Daiz-
    Please email me the quiche recipe- and I NEED to talk to Jerry about my sleep disorder. And more than anything, we would love to have a copy of the video. We love you!!!

    John & Paula

  7. 7 Denise ( damm) May 21, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Im so glad you had a great time and you look great!!

  8. 8 daisy May 21, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    Thanks Denise!

    Daisy

  9. 9 daisy May 21, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Thanks Moraima! I hope to have news on the new show pretty soon!

    Daisy

  10. 10 Karla May 21, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    Just wanted to say belated Happy Birthday, Daisy!
    You look nowhere near 50! Whatever you’re doing, keep up the good work!

    May God bless you and your family.

  11. 11 daisy May 21, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Dear Karla: Thanks for your email, and blessings!!

    Daisy

  12. 12 Ana May 27, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    Felicidades! Happy b-day, Daisy! You look mah-velous, darling! Actually, I just turned 40 on May 2nd (ouch!). Congratulations to your son, too, on his graduation.

    Love the recipes, love having a little bit of Abuela’s home cooking available again.

    You have brought Latino cooking to life, and to our lives, and for that, I really have to thank you.

  13. 13 daisy May 27, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    Gracias, Ana….as always, it is my pleasure!
    oxoDaisy

  14. 14 Lynda May 28, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    Daisy,
    Wishing you a Happy Be-lated Birthday, and Congrats on your son’s graduation. How happy and proud you must be. I pray bountiful blessings for you and your family. Your pictures are fabulous and you are truly a beautiful inspiration. Enjoy your DIVA status!!!

    Your Philadelphia Fan,
    Lynda

  15. 15 Lyzz June 2, 2008 at 10:00 am

    Daisy.. You are so beautiful… You are prime example on how us latinas are ageless and full of grace.. Here’s to many, many, more beautiful moments in your life and your family as well.. God Bless…

  16. 16 daisy June 2, 2008 at 10:15 am

    You are waaaaaay too generous with your compliments, Lyzz, but thank you so very much! I will gladly receive blessings anytime I can get them and warmly return them , as well. Con cariño…
    Daisy

  17. 17 brian connor July 30, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    Hola Chica-
    que tal?
    hope you are enjoying the summer, looks like you are as the pool looks refreshing. We had a difficult decsion to make a couple of weeks ago. Our beautiful pet cat June, 19 yrs young,(90 in human yrs) left us peacefully. She was so sick, and yet never complained or turned on anyone.
    We miss her terribly. I had her when she was 8 weeks old…
    just caught you on 21…so great to watch you, had to touch base.
    lets get together soon, hot or not!
    miss you, love you-xxx
    our best to toda familia
    B&S

  18. 18 daisy July 30, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    Darling! It’s so great to hear from you! I was just mentioning to Miggy that I wanted to have you and Sammy over. Let’s talk real soon. oxoDaiz


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

