Received This Today, Serendipitously


If you’re Puerto Rican, most, if not all, applied to you at one time or another….

********************************************


I grew up in a household where coffee, milk and sugar were part of a balanced breakfast.

I grew up in a household where my ADD and ADHD was treated with “cuando te coja te voy a dar una gasnata” instead of Ritalin.

I grew up in a household where all it took was just ONE look.

I grew up in a household where we loved white rice and fried eggs.

I grew up in a household where soup was considered “comida de enfermos”

I grew up in a household where Spanish was my primary language.

I grew up in a household where Spanish was my only language…

I grew up in a household where music or TV was never played on Good Friday.

I grew up in a household where we ate “bacalao” on Good Friday because all other fish was too expensive.

I grew up in household where we ate “pernil” at Thanksgiving.

I grew up in a household where we ate “pernil” at Nochebuena.

I grew up in a household where we ate “pernil” at birthday parties.

Come to think of it, I grew up in a household where we ate “pernil” at every social function.

I grew up in a household where Tilo and Manzanilla were the remedies to end all ailments.

I grew up in a household where I could have cafe con leche for breakfast but I was too young for a buchito de cafe negro.
I grew up in a household where we watched la novela while we were having dinner.

I grew up in a household where I was not allowed to sleepover at anybody’s house but they could all come over to our house

I grew up in a household where we didn’t need El Cable because we only watched El Canal 47.

I grew up in a household where “la lonchera” was the lunch box.

I grew up in a household where “la carne” was from “la carniceria” and the groceries were from “la bodega”.

I grew up in a household where meat and potatoes were literally “carne con papas.”

I grew up in a household where oxtail stew had the colorful name of “rabo encendido” or a fiery tail.

I grew up in a household where people were either “blanco, negro, indio o chino.”

I grew up in a household where we drank Bustelo because El Pico was for Cubans.

I grew up in a household where we ate “habichuelas pintas y
coloras”, many times burned to a crisp by  and exploding in la “olla de presion”!

I grew up in a household where the oven was used exclusively to store “las ollas” and the used oil.

I grew up in a household where “las maquinitas” were slot machines and “el juego” was anything related to gambling.

I grew up in a household controlled by Puertoricans.

I survived in that household controlled by Puertoricans.

And I’m proud of it!!!



It’s great to be PUERTORICAN!

3 Responses to “Received This Today, Serendipitously”


  1. 1 Cristina M. Velez July 10, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    I love reading “If you’re Puerto Rican”. It brought back so many memories of growing up with my Abuela, Abuelo and Titi Julia. I remember attending the fourth grade and I had to write down what I ate at home during the day. I still could remember the teachers’ face when I wrote down that in the morning I had cafe con leche y queso. She promptly called home and told them that I wasn’t eating correctly. My Titi Julia just happened to be home and she received the call. She listened and then informed the teacher that my grandparents had the same food as children and now they were in their 70’s. I would love to be in my Abuela’s cocina having that cafe con leche again.
    Abuelo lived until he was 83 and Abuela lived until she was 103 years old. They molded me into the person that I am today. I care about others and I love to have family surround me at the table eating some good food. At this time is when you really listen to your children, so you could make sure that they are following the same road.
    I miss seeing you on t.v., but I am glad that I receive you newsletters. Have a great summer.

  2. 2 daisy July 10, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    I know exactly what you mean, Christina! You can’t imagine how many times I here this same message…all the stories that I tell on TV about family and memories…they are truly ours! Thank you for sharing yours with me. oxoDaisy

  3. 3 Lourdes Concepcion July 14, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Oh my GOD girl you make me rewind & go Back to my mother’s home in P.R. it was just like you said. I laugh so hard. Thank you Daisy. thanks a lot…


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

