The Best Laid Plans….and Happy 4th of July

As my children have gotten older, it is increasingly difficult to make entertainment plans that include them because, as young men are wont to do, they have their own varied social schedules. Although they often hang out together, one of them lives in Philly, all three of them work, and holidays are not often what they used to be, where I could take for granted that we would all be together.  I might have also mentioned, that because I am a chef, I usually don’t get invited to anyone’s home because they feel (or at least that’s what they tell me!) because they feel too intimidated to cook for me (try me, please!).I should day that for the record, Miggy’s mom is the exception to this rule!

Earlier this week, the unthinkable happened, and my happy go lucky friend, Violette, invited me to an all day beach/bbq that was being hosted at a friend’s home. Wow! I’m immediately thinking, “What can I bring?” As it turned out, the weather here in NYC was a bit iffy, and I opted to stay close to home, thinking that maybe Jerry and I would go out to dinner (maybe the River Cafe to watch the fireworks?), or just stay home a watch a couple of movies. I’m in the backyard, having a cup of coffee yesterday morning, when in saunters Marc from Philly, with his childhood buddy, Sean, and he says, “So Mom, are you cooking today? Not that I want to be any trouble….”.

That was at 10:30. By 12:30 I had Pork Spare Ribs in the smoker, and I was busy grilling vegetables that I had pulled out of my produce drawer (thank God for Costco!). Further searching produced a bag of haricot vert, red potatoes, and plenty of romaine lettuce (a staple at my house). Here’s what the menu looked like: Hickory smoked pork ribs with a passion fruit-chipotle mop

Red Potato Haricot Vert Salad with white wine/mustard vinagrette

Wheat berry Salad with Grilled Vegetables in a Balsamic Glaze

Caesar Salad Erik had to be on the floor at work by 3:15 so this was a pretty good challenge, but in inimitable Daisy style, I pulled it off, and managed to serve dessert (various ice creams and watermelon).

The boys (minus Erik) opted to take a dip in the pool, before heading out to see the fireworks. Who could resist these faces?! Jerry and I opted to stay home and spend a quiet evening after all, sharing a pitcher of mojitos, made from the mint that grows wild in my garden (they turned out too delicious for me to remember to take a photo!). I had all intentions of taking pictures of the fireworks from the third floor window, but the weather did not cooperate, with the rain coming down heavy right before the display, and then a continuous drizzle during the show. Visibility was not to be had…maybe next year? But then again, maybe I ‘ll be lucky enough to get another invitation! Happy Fourth of July!

5 Responses to “The Best Laid Plans….and Happy 4th of July”


  1. 1 nells July 7, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    This food looks delicious! Love your blog, and love your show (when is it coming back?). You rock! I get requests all the time for the spanish rice and guacamole, courtesy of your show! I will be working my way through your book.

  2. 2 daisy July 7, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    Hello nells! Thanks for the compliments..

    In reference to the show, we are about to make a very important announcement.

    I can’t wait to let you all know what’s in store for Daisy Cooks!

    Saludos!

    Daisy

  3. 3 Ana Maria July 8, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    Hi, Daisy, your menu looked sooo good. It’s close to lunch time and it’s making me very hungry. We also stayed home on the Fourth (no invites :-{) but ended up having a very late lunch at our favorite little dive. The weather in Miami was also iffy at the time of fireworks, the ones I can see from my house actually started 1/2 hour earlier than scheduled because of rain coming.

  4. 4 daisy July 8, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    Hungry is good, Ana Maria!Hopefully your hunger will inspire to get into the kitchen and rattle those pots and pans, lol!

  5. 5 Anita July 24, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Hola m’hija:
    How did you make the passion fruit chipotle mop for your 7-4 smoked ribs? Looked muy sabrosito. How long does it take for ribs to cook in the smoker? After the smoker, did you finish them off on the grill?
    Looks like you have a little bit of Brooklyn heaven at your place. Your friends are lucky. Would you open a restaurant already so I can also come and enjoy your wonderful food ! carinosamente Anita


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

