Summertime…and the Livin’ is Easy

It’s no secret that I love to entertain, but with my friends’ busy schedules, it’s not often that I can get the girls over on a Sunday afternoon.  That said and done, there is no way I want to spend the entire day in the kitchen preparing for company…it’s sunny and hot outside, perfect weather for a dip in the pool and a cool drink. What to do…?

I have a great idea! Let me make all the food in the morning, before the sun gets hot, and then I’ll be free to splish splash, and chill with my girls.

How do I come up with a do-ahead menu that will not overwhelm my guests appetites, and free me up from kitchen duties? Got it! Chilled Steamed Lobster, Shrimp Salad with Cherry Tomatoes, Avocado and Scallions, Shaved Fennel with Grapefruit, Red Onion, and Sicilian Cured Olives, and because Jerry loves to man the grill, Grilled Chicken Chorizos (thank you Alejandro!) with Sauteed Peppers and Onions.  I think we’ll wash that down with some White Sangria and fresh berries and we’re going to want something sweet after that, so let’s look in the fridge and see what we have; mango, peaches, and raspberry…just what I need for a cobbler! I’ll serve a Peach-Mango_Raspberry Cobbler with a Pecan Cinammon Streusel, and buy some vanilla ice cream to serve with it. Sounds like the beginning of a wonderful summer Sunday at home! All I need are my girlies, and I’m set!

Here goes dinner:

Summer Sunday

There is nothing quite so exquisite as watching the people that you cook for enjoy the fruits of your labors, and enjoy them they did. Proof positive that entertaining need not be exasperating, stressful, or labor intensive…in addition, I have the benefit of the company of my friends, while doing what I love most: cooking for people I love!

This what summer memories are made of!


Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

