We Give Them Wings…

This is a real personal post…this week has been a particularly emotional one for me. My oldest son Erik, and my second boy, Marc, have moved out of home and into an apartment together. This after Erik celebrated his 26th birthday on Monday. Those of you who know me first hand, know that my children are my life…my pride…my heart…my joy…

The boys have actually lived out of the house before. I have always encouraged love of travel and exploration, and truth be told, Erik spent four years in Ithaca in college, and Marc has spent the last four years in Philly. However, watching them load the truck last night with their bags and boxes brought out the frantic Mommy in me, leading me to empty the refrigerator and pantry in a desperate attempt to ward off starvation or worse! I rationalized that they are a mere 90 minutes away…by car…and I drive…but not even that was enough to ward off the tears that sent me running into the basement “in search of plastic food containers”.

I have been struggling with “empty nest” for the last couple of years, as poor Miguelina can attest to, but there was a finality about the move last night that left me a bit shaken. Thankfully I still have David and Angela to drive crazy (lol), but the event last evening really shook me, until of course, I realized that this is what I have been preparing them for, for as long as I have had them. They are young men, in search of their own fame and fortune, and gone is the time when I pick them up, dust off their pants and kiss their boo boos, when they fall. I was chatting with my dear friend Richard at dinner on Monday, discussing one of his favorite subjects, his son Sebastian, and I found myself smiling at his “little boy” stories… feeling nostalgic for my own  “boy” experiences.

This morning, after my second cup of coffee, I am reassuring myself that I have raised them to be independant, confident, and productive young men. They are armed with rapier wit, a discerning eye, and very good jugdement…I just hope they remembered to put the perishables I gave them for their breakfast in the fridge last night…and God?…most of all, please, let them FLY!

8 Responses to “We Give Them Wings…”


  1. 1 Jason Perlow October 4, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Hey, look, at least you get the house to yourself.🙂

  2. 2 daisy October 4, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Thanks, Jay, lol!

  3. 3 Bonnie October 5, 2008 at 1:12 am

    You raised some of the most amazing kids and you must be so proud. You’ll be fine. *HUGS*

  4. 4 Mike Delgado October 5, 2008 at 5:41 am

    “There are only two lasting bequests we can hope to give our children. One is roots; the other, wings” — Hodding Carter

    “The best way to keep children home is to make the home atmosphere pleasant — and let the air out of the tires” — Dorothy Parker

    Two views and both are sooo true. You put so much love, energy, and work into them as they grow up that even though you want to see them move on, it’s still heartrending to see them go. I remember when I left home at 18 my father had a heart attack – his heart literally broke when he saw me go.
    My 21 year old son is still home with us. Although I’m torn between coddling him and hoping he never leaves to kicking him out the door because he’s too comfortable (and acts that way to boot!), I’m sure I will probably feel the same as you when he does finally leave the roost to make his own. Our consolation and happiness will be the knowledge that we prepared him for exactly this stage in his life and that we will be proud, just as you are for your two great men.
    As Elizabeth Stone had commented, “Making the decision to have a child – it’s momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking outside your body.”
    But on the subject of moving out, we must not forget that great sage Bill Cosby as he said, “Human beings are the only creatures that allow their children to come back home!”
    :p
    Luv ya! And don’t forget to drop by their bachelor pad every so often – keeps them on their toes!
    Mike

    PS – Por fin arreglaron la problema! I was starting to have withdrawals!

  5. 5 daisy October 5, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Thanks, Bonnie, although you know I take absolutely no credit…I have really been blessed! oxoD

  6. 6 daisy October 5, 2008 at 9:12 am

    Hola Mike,
    Thanks for making me cry first thing on a Sunday morning, lol. What a beautiful sentiment. Esmeralda Santiago, author and dear friend, once told me that my children are the jewels that adorn the necklace that is my life. Clearly, they are each the very most important thing I have ever accomplished in my life.
    oxoD
    P.S. Glad to have you all back!

  7. 7 Vanessa October 5, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Dear Daisy,

    I decided to check out your blog today, it’s been a while. I love reading your stories. But this one, really got to me. I’m sitting here typing, barely able to read my words, because my eyes are full of tears.
    I can’t imagine how this must have felt for you.
    I have 2 young sons, 10 and 7 and I can’t imagine that day coming, when they leave the house. I will be a mess, that’s for sure! But like you said, you do your best, to prepare them for life ahead, and then you have to do the hardest thing.. letting them go. We went through a very emotional year, with my 7 year old son, Alejandro, he was diagnosed with a spinal cord tumor (bening, thank God). He had a very delicate, invasive surgery this past January, and he’s doing really well. But this is still such an emotional rollercoaster. Anyways, I just wanted to thank you for sharing this story. God bless you and your beautiful family. May your boys be safe and blessed.

    Vanessa

  8. 8 daisy October 5, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    Gracias Vanessa. I know that as a Mom you totally get where I am coming from. My breath caught in my throat when I read about your son’s health scare, pero gracias a Dios, he has recovered. Thank you for your prayers and blessings, and God multiply them tenfold to you and yours.
    oxoD


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

