In The Mornin’…In the Evenin’…Ain’t We Got Fun?

Wow! I was certainly unprepared for the response we have gotten for our “Email of the Week” feature. I am thrilled that it has been so well received, and that the feedback has been so enthusiastic. It was exactly what I needed to bring my spirits up (it’s been a stressful week!), and I am positive that you are going to find this week’s pick as enjoyable as i did. We even had some delicious looking photos to accompany it. See for yourselves!

Hi Daisy,
I am a big fan of yours and wanted to let you know how much you have helped me. I am an Italian girl from Da Bronx and my husband is Puertorican and from Queens. He is in the United States Marine Corps for 19 years now. We have been married 18 1/2 of those years. I did not know how to cook any Puertorican dishes at all. I used to help his Mom when we were dating and I loved to EAT everything she made but had no clue how to cook at that time. When my husband and I met we were just teenagers. I am now 40 years old and can finally say, thanks to you, that I can cook alot of good Puertorican food!!! I even made pasteles all by myself last Christmas. Usually I would make them with my Puertorican girlfriends where ever we are living at the time. we have lived many places. Some places it is impossible to get any of the ingredients to make Puertorican food, other places have everything you need. We are currently stationed in San Marcos California, my husband works at Camp Pendleton in Oceanside. Anyway, my point is that if it wasn’t for your cook book and T.V. shows and now your web site, I would still be in the dark on alot of the dishes I know make. I love your recipe for the perfect white rice. It does come out perfect every single time. I always use to make yucky sticky rice, and now it is light and fluffy. I hope to see another cook book from you soon so I can continue making great dishes for my husband and 3 sons!(they eat me out of house and home!) I’m enclosing a bunch of pictures of my dishes. I love to make my own home made sofrito, and empanadas, which I use many different fillings for. I attached a picture of me with a bowl of canepas sent to us from my husbands family in Puerto Rico. I thank you once again for all your great recipes, please keep them coming!
Barb Justiniano
Accompanying this lovely email were these mouth watering pics:
Empanadas and Pasteles
Pastelon & Sofrito
That may be the most amazing pastelon I have ever seen, Barb! You go with your bad self! Thank you so very much for sharing your story, your food and your family, with our family, here at Boriqua Blog…and thank your handsome hubby for all of his efforts, hard work for our country, and  for representin‘!
Barb Justiniano
MSgt. Justiniano by you.MSgt. Justiniano

2 Responses to “In The Mornin’…In the Evenin’…Ain’t We Got Fun?”


  1. 1 Mike Delgado October 5, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Hey, Barb!
    From a fellow neighbor from “Da Boogie-down Bronx” I have to say your food pics look absolutely delicioso! I agree with Daisy that your pastelon made my mouth water. I’ll have a cut of it with a couple of empanadas and the second pastele from the left (looks nice & picante!) – that is, of course, if your hubby and boys leave any leftovers😉
    And to your husband, thank you for your courage and commitment for “standing post.” We all owe you our most heartfelt respect – Hooraah!

  2. 2 Barb Justiniano October 7, 2008 at 11:47 am

    Thanks Mike! I can’t wait for Daisy’s next book so I can post more photos of the yummy food I am learning to make thanks to her. I think she should do a DVD set showing her making all her awesome recipes!!! Take care and have a great day Mike!


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

