November 2008

In Thanksgiving November is the month where Americans put a day aside to give thanks for all of their blessings, and I thought I would take a minute to take inventory, and give thanks for all of the riches that the Almighty has bestowed on me. This is our third Thanksgiving on DaisyMartinez.com, as well as Boriqua Blog, and I would love to take the opportunity to thank all of our friends and supporters, who subscribe to our newsletter, comment on the blog, and write with questions and suggestions. The success of the site and the blog has been entirely because of you all.

The site would not be up and running smoothly without the technical savvy and total coolness of Jason Perlow, and Fred Green [note from Fred: You’re welcome, Daisy!], and of course Miguelina manages the plethora of correspondence that we get on the site. I thank them all for all of their tireless efforts to keep things up and running smoothly.

This past month, I had the privilege of working on a project with Rachael Ray and her husband John Cusimano, and I want to thank them both for their continued support and belief in the whole “Daisy” experience. Rachael has been a tireless crusader in her effort to return Daisy to the airwaves, and we are confident that we will have really terrific news for all of you very soon! Who would have thought that a serendipitous meeting on a New York Time Magazine panel on “How We Eat” would lead to a long and lasting friendship, as well as a professional relationship?

If I had a nickel for every “thank you” I had for my boy Jon Rosen over at William Morris, I could retire tomorrow, but I still would not be able to convey the magnitude of my gratitude. Jon has been a believer from the beginning, and his support means the world to me. Apart from being an agent extraordinaire, he has become a good friend and advisor. You go with your bad self, Jon!

I am immensely grateful that I still have both my parents and that they enjoy good health, and have lived to see their grandchildren grow up fine and strong. I give thanks for the love and support of my husband, Jerry, for the gifts that are my four beautiful children, Erik, Marc, David, and Angela, and for the honor I have to be their mother. Every time I step in front of a stove to prepare food, I do it to honor all of my family past and present. When I get up on Thanksgiving morning to start the preparation of my holiday meal, I will give thanks for the memories that my mother and Abuela created for me, and for the opportunity to create those memories for my friends and family, that they will enjoy for the rest of their lives. Those will be memories of shared meals and laughter, of chronicling the growth of our families and friends, and to witness the passage of time.

Pavochon will be the main event at my Thanksgiving celebration, of course… my table would not be the same without it, and of course, Mami’s Cassava Stuffing has pride of place along side it, with my Spinach with Raisins and Pine Nuts. I’ll have to throw some sweet potatoes in the oven to roast with the turkey because they are Jerry’s favorites, but this year I think that I’ll have to serve my Guava Flan next to the pumpkin pie. That is certainly a recipe that I have to give thanks for, and now, you will too!

With all I have to be thankful for, it seems that one day is definitely not enough! I certainly give thanks all year round, but a pat on the back is never not appreciated. For all of those to whom I am grateful, this is my tip of the hat and my pat on the back to you. You are very much appreciated and loved. From my home and my family to you:

A very Happy Thanksgiving!

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

