December 2008

I’ve been crazy busy this month (if you read the newsletter this month, you might have a clue why, lol!) but I received the above video from Mari Alex Estevez on Facebook, and it was exactly the pull on my collar that I needed! If I had a nickel for every wonderful Christmas memory I can associate with that song, I could retire  yesterday! It just goes to show you how important it really is to stop and smell the flowers, before they get away from you.

In these hectic times, with everyone so busy and preoccupied with twenty million agendas, we should remember the message of the season: Good Will and Peace to All Men (and Women!). Make sure you let all of your loved ones know how much you appreciate them, and how much they bring to your life…then pass the Coquito!

15 Responses to “December 2008”


  1. 1 Anita December 10, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    felicitaciones sobre su nueva programa en Food TV
    Te quiero mucho amiga, soy muy orgullosa de ti.
    carinosamente, Anita

  2. 2 Mike Delgado December 11, 2008 at 4:46 am

    Dear Daisy,

    It has been a rather hectic and tumultuous year for us all, along with our family and friends. As the world continues to get crazier, it’s always comforting to know that the love and companionship of those around us helps keep us all grounded and sane while making us richer in spirit. In the end when we finally return to our original spiritual form, isn’t it wonderful to know we’ll again see all those we’ve touched and have been touched in our lives and rejoice in that Love that never ends. That knowledge makes every thing we endure here much more meaningful and rewarding for it only makes us that much better!

    To that end, I just want to express to you my heartfelt admiration and gratitude for all that you have done and do, both as a mother and as an inspiration to our Latino heritage. You represent what is BEST in all of us and you promote our culture with a style and grace that makes us all PROUD to be Latino. In my opinion, you are a national treasure.

    It is an honor and a privilege to call you a friend and hermana. To you and yours, may the Lord continue to bless you as we celebrate another joyous Christmas and wishing you much health, prosperity, and happiness in the coming New Year! Felicidades!

    OXO
    Mike

    PS – Congratulations, again – “Viva Daisy” WILL KNOCK THE SOCKS OFF the FN lineup – sigue p’alante, bella!

  3. 3 Barb Justiniano December 12, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    Daisy,
    Your blog always puts a smile on my face! I agree with you…in these hectic times we all need to stop and count our blessings! This holiday season my hubby and I are taking our 3 boys, our family dog and cat, and jumping in our big Chevy Suburban and driving across country. From San Marcos California, to Orange County New York! We thought it was important to be with our families this year. My hubby is in the Marines and we travel alot, and this will actually be our first Christmas back home in NY in 16 years. We are all so excited!!! There’s no place like NY at Christmas time. I’m getting ready to make pasteles to take with us to NY for my sister in law’s Christmas Eve party. Your pasteles recipe is awesome! I used it last year and they came out great! Well Merry Christmas to you and your wonderful family and I wish you all a very happy and healthy 2009!!!

  4. 4 Brenda Padilla December 14, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    OMG, I cried when I heard that song, it brought me way back….so many memories of my grandpa, how bitter sweet.

  5. 5 Ramona Lopez December 18, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    My husband was watching your show “Daisy Cooks” and saw a salsa called Mojitos that he wants to make but he didn’t have time to write down the recipe. I am on your website but i am not having any luck finding the recipe because all i have to go on is that it is called Mojitos. Can you please send the recipe to my e-mail address? Muchas Gracias! By the way he loves your show. I haven’t watched it yet but I will. Have a blessed day! Sinceramente, Ramona Lopez

  6. 6 Daisy December 22, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    Gracias Anita!

    Saludos,

    Daisy

  7. 7 Daisy December 22, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    I’m glad you loved it! Thanks Brenda…

  8. 9 Daisy December 23, 2008 at 1:21 am

    Dear Barb:

    Thanks for writing. Have a great time with the family in NY!

    Saludos,

    Daisy

  9. 10 Raquel December 26, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    Hey Daisy,

    I’m so happy to hear that your back. I wish you and yours a Merry Christmas and a happy and healthy New Year. See you on the Food Network.

  10. 11 ESTELA December 28, 2008 at 12:55 am

    I tried uour adobo mojado but i added lemon and everyone loved it. i told my friends about your site so they should be looking for recipes for new years.anyway love your show.
    me and my girlfriend have made up some recepies. do you do contest i would like to enter one of my recepies.

  11. 12 daisy December 28, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    Thank you Raquel, and happy new year!

    Daisy

  12. 13 Vanessa December 31, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    Querida Daisy,

    I didn’t want to end the year without saying “FELICIDADES!!!” on your new show on the Food Network!! It’s definitely about time, and I can’t wait to see the show! I wish you much success, love, good health and happiness! I hope with all the success you will achieve, we won’t stop seeing your wonderful blog! Hasta la proxima! Vanessa

  13. 14 daisy January 6, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Dear Vanessa:

    Thank you very much for you good wishes! and I will see you Saturday at 9:30am!

    Daisy

  14. 15 Ramona Velez January 26, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    Where is My Daisy?

    I just watched an episode of Viva Daisy, and I couldn’t help but notice that vibrant boriqua was being subdued somehow. I can see it fighting to come out, but nope it wasn’t there. What made Daisy Cooks a great show for me, was that latin fire, that cultural sense that brought me back to my latin roots! Where I felt i as in my aunt’s kitchen hanging out, picking up a thing a too with a story to boot. The stories were missing and your cooking style was not the same. Bring back the Daisy we know and love! I will continue to watch, but will miss the “fua!” in you.

    Am I the only one???


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

