January 2009

Now that the hustle and bustle of the holidays are behind us for the most part, many of us focus on batting down the hatches, and connecting to the coziness of home. I, for one, am done with all the rich foods that I indulged in over the holidays, and look to soul satisfying comfort food that will warm my soul as well as my stomach. I know beyond the shadow of a doubt that sancochos, chupes, and soups are very well going to be featured on my table. With the roller coasting of the economy, home is the perfect place to turn to for good food, and homey entertaining…and I’m all about both!

Crema de Calabazin con Cangrejo (Cream of Zucchini with Crab) on Noche Buena

Of course, this year, soups and stews will be doing double duty in Casa Daisy because my schedule has just jumped from ridiculous speed to ludicrous speed! Not only does my new show “Viva Daisy!” launch on January 10 at 9:30 AM on the Food Network, but I have just sold my second cookbook, and will be busy testing recipes so we can get it published and on the shelves for you as quickly as possible. Filled with more delicious authentic Latino dishes, this second book will be published simultaneously in English and in Spanish! All of these things are cause enough for excitement, of course, but in addition, I am doing events like a Tapas Workshop at ICE in January (see my calendar at www.daisymartinez.com for date and time) when I get a chance to cook side by side with my students, and then enjoy a meal with them afterwards. Good times!

Our friends over at The TODAY Show, invited us over to start the New Year right, and I was happy to share my personal favorite comfort foods. We demo-ed an Orzo Fideua, which was delicious, a Crema de Elote (Corn Chowder), and my delicious Roast Chicken with Wet Garlic Adobo. Now that’s how I say “comfort food” in my house!

Orzo Fiduea with Shrimp, Scallops, and Mussels

Roast Chicken with Wet Garlic Adobo

True to my word, I’ve promised comfort food, so comfort food you shall get. In order to sooth your soul as well as your tummy this month, my first suggestion is for Sopa de Ajo (Garlic Soup) which I first enjoyed on a cold, rainy evening in December, roaming the streets of Barcelona looking for a restaurant that Jerry was convinced was the only place to eat. Well, we finally found the restaurant, only to find that it was closed. Chilled to the bone, we ducked into a sweet little restaurant called De Tapa Madre, and trying to warm up, I ordered this soup. It was the beginning of a meal that was so memorable, that I returned the next evening with all the boys for another unforgettable family meal.

Another incredible comfort dish that we enjoyed during that trip was a dish of Cannelini Beans with Clams. On the last night of our trip in Madrid, we were lucky enough to have sampled this incredibly satisfying dish that is delicious with a small green salad and some crusty bread. Soooooo good! Of course, if we’re talking comfort food, I have to mention my Abuela’s Pigeon Pea Soup with Green Banana Dumplings. This is the type of dish that will warm you through and through while leaving you completely satisfied. Try it with a spoonful of vinagre to add a bit of sparkle, or with a light Avocado-and Orange Salad.

I want to thank all of you who have shared your stories, your pictures and your recipes with me. I will continue to post Email of the Week, for as long as you guys send them in, so that we can all enjoy them on Boriquablog. I love the way those emails bring us all together as a family and a community, so GO YOU! Don’t forget to tune in to Viva Daisy! on Saturday January 10th at 9:30 AM on Food Network, and make sure you drop those good folks an email to let them know how you like the show (hopefully you will like it, lol!). Until then, everybody:

Stay Warm and Buen Provecho!!


Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

