What an Incredible Day…

 

 

 

 

Today was a pretty incredible day. The anticipation of Viva Daisy! on the Food Network was enough to keep me with butterflies in my stomach for days, but then I was flooded by  phone calls, mail from well wishers, family and friends. I was finally able to quiet down in the latter afternoon, when I opened this email:

 

subject2: Roasted Chicken/Viva Daisy premiere

name: Amy Tilley

comments: Dear Daisy,

I just wanted to let you know that I have cooked two more of your recipes from “Daisy Cooks! Latin Flavors That Will Rock Your World”.  Thursday night I made the porkchops with the dry rub (wonderful on everything I’ve ever used it for!) and the citrus marinade, and Friday night I made roasted chicken.  I have three children (10, 5, & 2) and a husband who pretty much hates any chicken with skin or bone.  I have to tell you their reaction to the food.  My oldest has started branching out with foods he’ll try without complaining, so he was fine, he loved the chops and the chicken from the first bite.  My 5 year old, on the other hand, is a VERY picky eater.  If he doesn’t recognize the food it’s very difficult to get him to try it, and he usually drowns it in ketchup.  Well, let me tell you, when he tasted the chops Thursday night, he said “Mom!  This is the best meat I’ve ever tasted!”  He had two helpings of meat before he even touched his mashed potatoes.  What a joy it was to watch him devour the porkchops!  Then last night, when I made the roast chicken, he tasted it and said, “Mom!  THIS is the best meat you’ve ever made!”  He had a leg and half a thigh!  And my husband, who as I said hates chicken, especially if it has bones or skin on it, grunted in disappointment when he saw what we were having for supper last night.  I told him to try it first!  After he ate an entire breast – skin and all – he told me that was the absolute best chicken he had EVER had, and that he would eat that any day over any other chicken dish.  I don’t know if you can understand how happy I was.  The food was delicious, everyone loved it, and we ate THE WHOLE CHICKEN!

Before I go, I just wanted to tell you I caught your show on Food Network this morning.  How wonderful it was to see you on TV again!  I sat and drooled through the whole thing.  I pray you enjoy much success with this venture – I’d love to see you become a regular, with a show every night!  Thank you for sharing your love of food and these wonderful recipes with us.

Sincerely,
Amy Tilley

 

Now, I don’t know if it’s because I was pretty emotionally spent after this morning, or because I am the girl who cries at Pampers commercials, but I found my eyes well up when I read this email. I wrote back to Amy and she sent me a picture of her beautiful family.

Emma, Jacob, and Zacharia Tilly

 

It has certainly been quite a day, a day when it feels really, really great to be in my shoes! Thank you Amy, and everyone else who took a moment to email, or text, or call and send their well wishes and love. I am grateful beyond words. You rock!

4 Responses to “What an Incredible Day…”


  1. 1 Lisa January 12, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    Viva Daisy!!! Finally back; we missed you. I watched your debut on Saturday, Jan. 10 with my husband and ran out and purchased everything you cooked on the show (except the dessert). I made it yesterday for Sunday dinner and my husband and kids loved the steak and potatoes. Wow! what flavor. I look forward to seeing more and learning new recipes. I have your book “Daisy Cooks” stained with achiote oil and signed by you at the Botanical Gardens. Keep representing..Happy you are back in the Bronx, Lisa.

  2. 2 daisy January 12, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Lisa, I LIVE for emails like this! Thank you so very much for all of your enthusiasm, and for sharing your enthusiasm with your family! How happy does it make to hear that your copy of the book is stained with achiote? It makes me want to do my happy dance, lol!
    oxoDaisy

  3. 3 Nancy January 18, 2009 at 1:35 am

    Hi Daisy!
    LOVED your show today! I had no idea you were on. I just happened to be browsing the channels and screamed when I saw you! I have set my DVR to catch all your upcoming shows as well. I have been an avid fan of Daisy Cooks for so long. I have also purchased your cookbook for me and both my sister and mother. The funny thing is, my mother is 100% Dominican! We have grown up loving the Dominican foods she cooks, but she has never really shared with my sister and me how to cook all those delicious dishes. She doesn’t measure, so she always thought it was too dificult to tell us how to make certain dishes. My sister and I just love your cookbook. We’ve made almost all of your recipes. My mother loved it too. She was excited to see recipes for some foods my grandmother would make for her as a little girl. In fact, now she cooks with us. We use your recipes and then she always tells us her own little “tweaks.” Not that your recipes aren’t already perfect!!! I want you to know that I sent a comment to the Food Network today telling them how wonderful your show was, and that I really hope they make it a regular series. By the way, love the longer hair! Here’s to your continued success!!!!

  4. 4 daisy January 18, 2009 at 1:57 am

    Dear Nancy:

    Thank you very much for the wonderful email, and your continuous support.

    Please join us every Saturday morning at 9:30am particularly Saturday the 31st. The episode is about feeding my Dominican friend Miguelina some amazing Dominican dishes!

    Saludos,

    Daisy


Comments are currently closed.



Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

