All the Validation I Need…

 

You know that saying that “you can please some of the people some of the time, and all of the people some of the time, but you can never please all of the people all of the time”? Well, I have found in this line of business that truer words were never spoken. People can be hurtful and vindictive, and the internet is the new “cowards” way to lash out. I’m happy to say that I seldom receive emails like that, and I find I have a friendly, casual relationship with my viewers, readers, and eFans here on BBlog and at the home site. I also like to share some of the “warmer” emails, and of course your pictures and recipes…in short, I am happy to share in your life, like you have chosen to share in mine. It makes us “family”.

Every once in a while, though, I find myself sitting at the computer, moved to tears by an email sent by a fan. The following is an email I received this week. I could barely read the monitor for the tears in my eyes.

subject2: great job

name: meliza volta

comments: Watching your show brings back great memories for me. My mother was the best cook I ever known, she’d make anything taste awsome. She would make dishes that alot of people wouldn’t like and dead set ever trying it again, but I tell you once she made it we couldn’t get people to go home. My mom was a big believer in if I’m going to do it, I’m  going to do it right. When I turned 21 I lost my to breast cancer. She was the best thing that I ever had in my life, beside my daughter and husband that god has blessed me with now.
When I saw your first show I was like thank god a latin cooking show, but then as I kept watching I started saying “oh that’s the recipe for vinagre or sofrito” and so on. Watching your show sometimes makes me cry but also very happy because through you we can still have those recipes in our home today. Good luck to you and your family and also on your new show in food network, which by the way is going to be a hit!
                                Sincerely,
                               Meliza Volta

 

 Dearest Meliza,

It is truly I who must thank you for sharing this little piece of your heart with me. I am humbled beyond belief that you have chosen to pay honor to the memory of your mom and all the meals she prepared with love for you growing up, through my recipes. I can only hope I never disapppoint you, and can continue to share these experiences with you, as you create them for your family.

OXO

Daisy

 

Meliza and hubby

…And that’s why I have the best job in the whole world!

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

