March 2009

Spring, and it’s promise of everything new, fresh, and clean has been teasing me here in NYC this past weekend with 60-70 degree weather and sightings of baby artichokes, fava beans and shad roe in the market. Of course, we say goodbye to many things, like snowstorms, frostbite, and sadly, our own Miggy. She has moved on to greener pastures and we wish her Godspeed and good luck.

Our run at Food Network was very successful with Viva Daisy! The last of the six pilot episodes aired on February 14th and you were all very vocal about your support-I thank you all from the bottom of my heart. For anyone who missed the announcement on the TODAY Show on Tuesday March 10, 2009, all of your efforts have paid off; WE HAVE GOTTEN PICKED UP BY THE FOOD NETWORK!!

Yes, it’s true! After all of our waiting, and your ceaseless support, the Food Network has invited us back. I am going to studio next month, and brand new episodes of Viva Daisy! will be on the air as early as June! As we speak I am putting together show “themes” and the recipes that will accompany them.  The Food Network will be producing the shows in-house and are busy building a set for the show as we speak.

Stay tuned for updates!

Whew! It’s a wonder that I have time cook at all! However, with all of the recipe testing that Chris and I are doing for the new book, the kitchen in Casa Daisy is getting a hard workout after all!

With the sneak tease of Spring, I am itching to get out and grill. Luckily, I have a whole section of the new book dedicated to barbeque, or the Latino version of one: the Argentine Asado! That gives me plenty of reason to break out the grill and warm it up for the upcoming season. However, if things are still cool out your way, you may want to try these Two Chile Lamb Racks which will certainly celebrate Spring, while warming things up a bit, too! I love the hint of smoke that the chipotles add to the sweetness of the lamb. Serve these beautiful lamb chops with Cuban Style Black Beans and steamy, fragrant, white rice. I am ALL over that!

Our friends over at the TODAY Show invited me back for the second time this year, where I had the chance to make Churrasco with Chimichurri Sauce for Matt Lauer and Meredith Vieira. I have to say, it looks like they enjoyed it a lot! You can see the clip on our homepage at www.daisymartinez.com.

The recipe for the Churrasco and Chimichurri recipe can be found on the Food Network Viva Daisy! page or at msnbc.com

I can’t wait until next month to bring you all up to date on the entire goings on in pre-production. Until then…

Buen provecho!


Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

