Union Square Green Market

I was in Union Square this past Saturday, shooting B-Roll for the new episodes of Viva Daisy!, and had the opportunity to make a few new friends in the meantime. This morning, I received the sweetest email from Susan, who has a stand at the Green Market held there on Saturdays, and I really want to share it with you all. Here goes:
Hi Daisy, it was wonderful to have met you in Union Square this past weekend. I’ve met a lot of chefs that talk to me about different kinds of cooking and talk to me about cooking on Pink Himalayan salt stones. When I mention to my niece Jody about you, she was so surprised she said ” don’t you know who Daisy Martinez is”! Well I told her that I had just met you and was going to look you up on the net and on the Food Network.She was so excited that she almost burst.She told me that she has your book and how she cooks all of the Latino dishes. She – said my mom is Jewish and my dad is Puerto Rican and so is my Husband Raymond.(photo of Jody, Raymond and daughter Alyssa, 2 yrs old)  I love to cook great Latino dishes and Raymond loves to eat!!. lol She told me you have the greatest recipies and that she was going to teach me some from your book. All I could say was LET’S COOK!!  I read that you are moving to the Food Network and are going to have your own show called VIVA DAISY! Some of the comments I read from your fans were so amazing I found myself feeling lucky to have met you. I want to wish you all the best of luck on VIVA DAISY!  I’m sure you will be an asset to the Food Network. Looking forward to watching your new show. Perhaps I will see you again in the Union Square Greenmarket.
 
          All The Best Susan Isaacs
photo taken 3/28/09 in Union Square Park
Daisy and Susan Isaacs
Raymond, Jody, and Alyssa
Isn’t that block of Himalayan salt absolutely gorgeous? I saw chef and friend Fortunato Nicotra (Felidia) use them as serving pieces for his crudo course on Iron Chef America. Susan was generous enough to gift me with a beautiful sphere of the pink salt. I can’t wait to go back when I’m not working, to buy some of her pieces!

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

