August 2009

After a bit of a late start here in New York City, summer is finally in full stride, and with it, all of the wonderful entertaining that goes with it. Things at Casa Daisy have been pretty busy as well, with the second go ’round of Viva Daisy! launching on July 11th on Food Network, a quick getaway for Jerry and I to the Bahamas, and lots of good friends, family getting together to enjoy lots of laughter and great food.

I started July out with a proposal for a new tradition: Cinco de Julio! I know that everyone always celebrated Fourth of July, but what about the day after? So, this year, I decided to take it easy on the 4th, and I had a big get together on July 5th that turned out to be a whole lot of fun! Let me give you idea of what went down. The menu included Grilled Short Ribs with Chimichurri (recipe at Food Network Viva Daisy! page), Cherry Heirloom Tomato Salad, Grilled Corn with Chipotle Mayo and Cotija Cheese, and fresh Pork Tamales! It was pretty intense!

Dinner plate for my Cinco de Julio Party

Dinner plate for my Cinco de Julio Party

Jerry rocks the grill like a pro!

Jerry rocks the grill like a pro!

Friends, family and good food: the perfect recipe for lots of fun!

The launch of the new episodes of Viva Daisy! has   been warmly received (thank you all so very much for your continued support!), and I decided to celebrate the launch   with (what else?!) food, of course, so I invited my dear friends and neighbors Lee and Loni Shomstein for a breakfast on the deck while we watched the show on the television. I served my spin on Flamenco-Style Eggs, fresh fruit salad and (Lee’s fave!) a Sour Cream Coffee Cake, with lots of freshly brewed coffee and some orange juice. Viva Daisy!

Family and friends help us celebrate the launch of the new episodes of Viva Daisy! with a delicious celebratory breakfast!

Family and friends help us celebrate the launch of the new episodes of Viva Daisy! with a delicious celebratory breakfast!

I also decided it had been quite a while since I hosted a good old fashioned crab boil, like the ones I experienced in Maryland, so I headed on out to Chinatown bright and early one Saturday morning and loaded up on a few dozen blue crabs and some Old Bay seasoning! I threw in some fresh corn tortillas and some Pork Tinga I had handy, and rounded things out with my buddy Jason’s Boricua Slaw. Honey, let me tell you, a great time was had by all!

Pork Ting Tacos with Boricua SlawSteamed Crabs

Pork Ting Tacos with Boricua Slaw and delicious Steamed Crabs

Summer fun!Summer fun!

Summer fun!

All of this entertaining is right up my alley, of course, but all work and no play-you know how it goes, so Jerry and I stole a few days and headed out to Paradise Island in the Bahamas, for a little R&R, and enjoyed someone else doing the cooking for a change!

Scorched Conch Salad with Sour Orange VinagretteTostones with Jerk Chicken and Monty Jack/Cheddar

Scorched Conch Salad with Sour Orange Vinagrette and Tostones with Jerk Chicken and Monty Jack/Cheddar

Letting my hair down with Captain Jack!

Letting my hair down with Captain Jack!

So all in all, it’s been a really great summer so far, and I still have the month of August to go! I’m looking forward to attending my youngest brother’s wedding, and I have that wonderful class I’ll be teaching in Maine (sold out, I’m happy to say!), so I’ll have lots to share with you all come September. Until then, have a fun, safe summer!

Buen provecho!

0 Responses to “August 2009”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

