December 2009

It’s that time of year, again (does it come faster and faster every year?), when we have the hustle of the holidays upon us, seemingly don’t have a single second to catch our breath, and hopefully look back on the year with a sense of accomplishment and contentment. This year, with so many of us feeling the crunch of these particularly challenging times, it is especially important to take inventory of all that we truly have to be thankful for, and open up our hearts to all we can count amongst our blessings.
When I was a little girl, and still living in Abuela’s house, I remember a Christmas when my Uncle Sal dressed up as Santa on Christmas Eve and climbed the stairs to our apartment on the top floor. I remember Mami had bought me a brand new “big girl” bathrobe, and fixed my hair into the banana curls she usually made on special “dress up” occasions, so I knew this was a really big deal. I also remember being a little terrified when Santa finally came through the door, with his “Ho! Ho! Ho!’s” , and his sack full of presents for my sister and I. It was all I could do to muster up all the courage I had to walk over and give Santa a kiss on the cheek!
When it came to my turn, as a mom, to have Christmas for my children, I knew I wanted to create memories for them that would last a lifetime, and so I looked to my inner child to remind me what it was that made the memories that I had so lasting and so special. I can tell you that when it comes to Christmas, I am the biggest kid in the house! I tried to make traditions of our own to last my family a lifetime of memories, starting out with our annual drive to the Christmas tree farm up in Connecticut, and the tailgate party we have after we chop down our tree and yell, “AAAMMMMMBBBEEEEEEERRRR!” (that’s a very inside story!!), to our Tree Trimming Party with family and friends, and our traditional Christmas Eve party, the heartbreakingly beautiful church services, and always – always, family and friends.
Angie saws down the tree for the guest room!
Angie saws down the tree for the guest room!
Angela and David decorate the tree
Angela and David decorate the tree
Noche Buena! Bring on the Pernil, Arroz con Gandules, and Pasteles!
Noche Buena! Bring on the Pernil, Arroz con Gandules, and Pasteles!
Christmas morning breakfast
Christmas morning breakfast
For many of us, it has been a difficult year. We’ve had to tighten up our purse strings, make many adjustments, and learn how to do without. Many of us have suffered losses that are irreplaceable, and will have to count on our memories to get us through our trials ahead. Aside from our faith, and confidence in our resolve and resiliency, the one thing we can count on, thankfully, is the love of our family and friends. We look to the New Year with hope, and pray that we open ourselves to all the joy it will bring.
Thank you all for sharing 2009 with me, for all of your continued support, and all of your enthusiasm for Viva Daisy! I wish you all the blessings of the Season, and a New Year filled with health, happiness, and prosperity, but most of all, I wish you wonderful memories of family and friends!
Happy Holidays!

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

