Viña Leyda


The first complete (and rested!) day in Chile found me at the Leyda wineries where we began our oenophile adventure.  After driving about one hour or so, we reached this beautiful vineyard, set against gently sloping mountains and rolling valleys. The Spring is just started in Chile, and I was surprised by the bareness of the young vines, although delicate patches of green are already visible.

Max, our gracious host at Leyda, gave us a quick tour of one of the slopes, while lecturing us on the importance of sun exposure, wind exposure, altitude, and irrigation to produce the exact qualities the winemakers at Leyda are looking for. I have to tell you, it was a completely new vocabulary to me, and I was impressed by the other members of my party, which included Karen Page and Andrew DornenburgFredric Koeppel, Michelle Locke Ho, Denman Moody and The Wine Guys. Pretty impressive company, indeed!

It wasn’t long before we made our way to the wine tasting and the matter at hand at Leyda’s lovely winery, and we spent the late morning/ early afternoon tasting fruity Chardonnays, juicy Cabernets (or Cab Savs, I’ve been told!),  and complex Pinot Noirs.  Taking the cue from all of my new professional wine “friends”, I swirled, swished, and spat with the best of them that morning, before we were lead to a darling tent which shielded us from the cool mountain breezes.

There, we enjoyed a deliciously warming lunch of  Shrimp and Conger Ceviche and Abalone and Shrimp Chupe (chowder), followed by a perfect fruit salad of cherimoya, strawberries and Chilean papaya (completely different than the Caribbean version!). This party was definitely started!

In true Latin American form, no party is complete without music, and our charming hosts at Leyda treated us to a group of Huasos, the country-folk of Chile singing traditional songs and dances. They even got me onto the dance floor!

Sadly, our visit at Leyda ended much too soon, and I asked Winebow host, Alfredo Bartalomaus, “Alfredo, what can possibly come after this? Leyda has certainly set the bar!”. Alfredo smiled knowingly and answered, “Our adventure has just begun, chiquilla…everything awaits.”

I couldn’t begin to imagine….

30 Responses to “Viña Leyda”


  1. 1 Migdalia Sanchez October 29, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    What an awesome trip it must have been! The food look delicious and the vino…..

  2. 2 Gina October 29, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    So excited for your new book, can’t wait. And just in time for the holidays!

  3. 3 Sandra October 29, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    Looks like a great time in Chile!

  4. 4 Mike October 29, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    Looked like a really amazing trip. Good food, good wine, what more could you ask for!

  5. 5 lysa October 29, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    What an amazing experience it must have been for

  6. 6 madeline rivera October 29, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    What a beautiful trip..everything looks absolutely amazing in the photos..can’t wait to try something new and exciting from your new book!

  7. 7 jaime October 29, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    How beautiful! Everything from sky to table looks crisp and refreshing. Putting Chile on my “Places to Visit” list.🙂

  8. 8 rob October 29, 2010 at 11:43 pm

    you go to the coolest places! how awesome❤

  9. 9 Mona Barksdale October 29, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    Looks like a lot of great wine and food was had! Sigh…wish I was there!

  10. 10 leon lynn October 30, 2010 at 1:54 am

    You are doing some cool stuff online, indeed.

  11. 11 Dee October 30, 2010 at 7:07 am

    Hola Miss Daisy! Congrats on a I’m sure wonderful new book. You have been a busy woman lately!!!

  12. 12 John Ned October 30, 2010 at 7:54 am

    what a memorable trip your having…enjoy your time and thanks for sharing

  13. 13 david cruz October 30, 2010 at 8:05 am

    I have ur books n I always loved ur food. I saw you in person in new jersey and u gave me and my wife some pegao that’s when I fell in love good luck and god bless. Boricua in the house!

  14. 14 Vanessa Morales October 30, 2010 at 8:22 am

    The pictures are beautiful! Can’t wait for your new book, since I need some new ideas for our Thanksgiving!

  15. 15 Ed Sweeney October 30, 2010 at 8:24 am

    I am a long time fan. I have enjoyed your posts about Chile. What a beautiful country. Can’t wait to go myself one day. I saw you in Jersey and it sticks with me about the gift you give now to your children, instead of material things, are memories and experiences by going on fantastic trips. I love that concept and have started to practice that myself.

  16. 16 Hector October 30, 2010 at 8:31 am

    The trip must have been awesome. I love the wines from Chile. In Puerto Rico, I buy them at Sam’s Club and in NY, I get them wherever I find them. Thanks for sharing!

  17. 17 Joseph Rivera October 30, 2010 at 8:39 am

    I’m gonna cheat! I’m going directly to the begging. I would love to receive your new book. It will undoubtedly help me in my quest to learn how to cook for my wife and I, now that I’m retired. LOL I promised her that once we had our new kitchen I would learn to cook. I’ve been following your “awsome” recipes and slowly learning. Anxiously waiting! (J R) BTW Your AWSOME! ;0)

  18. 18 Maria October 30, 2010 at 10:01 am

    What an awesome trip! Thanks for sharing it with your fans!

  19. 19 kathleen acuna October 30, 2010 at 10:16 am

    Daisy, can’t wait for the book. You are just the best<

  20. 20 fredric koeppel October 30, 2010 at 10:45 am

    what Daisy is not telling you is that while she might not have the knowledge and vocabulary she has a great palate, probably from all her experience in the kitchen. I was constantly amazed when she would describe a wine in her own way, and I would think, “That’s perfect.” and of course I would write it down.

  21. 21 lori October 30, 2010 at 10:59 am

    What more could one ask for? good food, vino, friends and Chili!

  22. 22 Yvonne October 30, 2010 at 11:03 am

    Daisy it looks like you had so much fun! Going to Chile is definitely on my vacation list.

  23. 23 Mike Rubinate October 30, 2010 at 11:26 am

    you know I’m always a supporter Daisy…
    the pics look just great by the way, inspiring to travel..and to eat !!

    best wishes

  24. 24 Remberto Jimenez October 30, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    The food looks delicious!

  25. 25 Diana O'Keefe October 30, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    I cannot wait to see the new book! I’ve been a fan of your’s since your PBS show and your cookbook is used in my house all the time. I always look forward to the recipe you contribute to Rachael Ray’s magazine. You make latin cooking (especially puertorrican) easy to create with ingredients we can find in the U.S. Congratulations on your success.

    • 26 Daisy October 30, 2010 at 6:10 pm

      Thank you Diana! Just as an FYI though, after the November issue my column, Mucho Gusto will no longer appear in Rachael Ray Magazine. I’ll be posting original recipes here on B Blog!

      Best,
      Daisy

  26. 27 arcticwolf October 30, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    if the new book is as good as the last one… yum! 🙂

  27. 28 Mark Prigoff October 30, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    Would love to win a copy of your new cookbook, “Daisy” Morning, Noon and Night”. I’ve enjoyed cooking with your first book so much. Your best fan,

    Mark

  28. 29 A Huber October 30, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    Love you Daisy!!! Looking forward to getting your new cookbook!!!

  29. 30 Daisy October 30, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    The randomly picked winner of the contest featuring a copy of my new book, being released this Tuesday November 2, is David Cruz! David, please email me your mailing address at daisy@daisymartinez.com so I can put your copy in the mail ASAP! Thanks all for playing! I’ll be posting another contest post in the next day or so, so try again!


Leave a Reply

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

