Daisy’s June News !

Hot time, summer in the city! The beaches are open, the kids are out of school, and I’ve even been invited to march in the Puerto Rican Day Parade! There is no shortage of things to celebrate, including receiving multiple awards from the 2011 International Latino Book Awards.

Best Cookbook – English

First Place:

DAISY: MORNING, NOON AND NIGHT

Daisy Martinez

Atria Books

Second Place:

DAISY’S HOLIDAY COOKING: DELICIOUS LATIN RECIPES FOR EFFORTLESS ENTERTAINING

Daisy Martinez

Atria Books

Best Cookbook – Spanish or Bilingual

First Place:

DAISY: MAÑANA, MEDIODIA Y NOCHE

Daisy Martinez

Atria Books

 

I am still breaking into spontaneous bouts of dance every time I think about it! Thank you all so very much for supporting the books, and to the wonderful Judith Curr, Johanna Castillo and the rest of Team Atria for making my dreams come true!

But I digress…we’re talking summer, and nothing says summer to me like salad, and I don’t mean an iceberg lettuce leaf, a slice of tomato and a slice of avocado (I call this “Puerto Rican” salad). There is no shortage of seasonal delicious produce to put in a salad, and you can include greens, vegetables, fruit, nuts, bread, herbs…the possibilities are endless!

Every time I serve this salad, my friends and family always says, “I would have never put these ingredients together, but this is my new favorite salad!” Not only is this salad colorful and delicious, it is incredibly easy to put together with a minimal amount of prep, but is incredibly colorful and festive. Take a peak at my Watermelon-Blue Cheese Salad with Red Onion, Black Olives and Balsamic Glaze Dressing.

 

 

The variations to this salad are only defined by what you have in your fruit and veggie bin in the refrigerator! Play with a variety of olives, capers, caperberries, blueberries, black berries, spiced pecans (*catching my breath*!!), Parmesan curls, feta crumbles, grated Cotija cheese, pineapple mint, basil, parsley…well, you the picture.

 

I’ll also be appearing at the Havana Central Restaurant Wednesday June 8th for a cooking demo and book signing (did I mention they are award winning books?😉, so for all of you who inundate me with emails asking, “Where can I see you?”, “When are you signing books?”, this is your cue! Stop by for a fun demo, great food, and a few laughs!

 

You can also find me on eHow.com’s new section starting this month “Rach’s Buddies doing some new “how to” webisodes. Make sure to stop by and take a peek at Boriquablog.com for the link, which should be available in the next week or so!

1 Response to “Daisy’s June News !”


  1. 1 Norma Roldan June 24, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    I read your blog and I was so upset with the people from Emeril – it just shows how ignorant they are I am so proud of you and if this had occurred to me I certainly would have done the same and not attend. I know the meaning of “Orgullo,” my parents were born in Puerto Rico and they taught me to be proud to be both an American and Puerto Rican. Thank you for your newsletters I never tire to read them. I particularly love seeing you prepare your delicious recipes.


Leave a Reply

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Daisy’s Twitter

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

