“BOGOTA Latin Bistro” Shines

Last night was one of those rare evenings that Jerry and I share anymore, where all the kids are out with their own plans, and we are left to our own devices. With the impending scare of the Blizzard of 2010 (we’ve been thankfully spared with a mere dusting!), we decided not venture too far from home, and after much buzz, headed out to BOGOTA Latin Bistro in Park Slope, Brooklyn.

The restaurant looks deceptively small when you walk in, but after being lead through a narrowish (and very well attended!) bar, we entered a beautifully laid out restaurant filled with families as well as couples out on a date. As soon as we were seated, we were presented by not one, but three menus: one Main menu, a Specials menu, and a Drinks menu. I put on my glasses to settle down to read, Jerry and I ordered a drink, and we were treated to complimentary plantain chips with  a vinegary, spicy salsa for dipping. I’d say I was off to a good start!

These salty, spicy little nibbles were the perfect balance to Jerry’s smoky, but refreshing Michelada!

Jerry gets his Michelada on!

So we’re off to a good start. Our very cheerful waitress comes to take our order and suggests the Patacon con Todo, a twice fried, smashed green plantain (think tostones) topped with nicely seasoned, shredded beef, and grated cheese…hey, you don’t have to sell me! The Fritanga platter also, seemed to jump off them menu at me; as a lover of all things fried, a platter that includes pork and chicken chicharrones, sweet plantains, morcilla, and Colombian chorizo is a no brainer in my book!!

Patacon con Todo

Fritanga Platter…so good you’ll have to give it up in confession!!

As I’m ordering all of this, I start to feel the slightest amount of guilt, so I threw in the watercress and avocado salad, as well. Listen, it’s a salad, right?? Sure, Daisy…..whatever works for you!

Watercress- Avocado Salad

I can tell you without reservation, that the patacon was hot, crispy and delicious, and the beef was beautifully seasoned and moist…the cheese was the icing on the proverbial cake. The watercress salad was delicately dressed with a slightly sweet dressing that Jerry and I kept going back to.  Paired with the peppery bite of the watercress, I could have made a meal of that alone, but since I planned to blog this dinner, I had to take one for the team. Onward!!  The “plate full of fry” was yummy, although I  have to say that I like my chicharron more highly seasoned…think marinating it in vinegar and dry adobo to get a sparkly, salty fix in that hot and crispy chicharron. Everything was hot (which is a must on a fried platter!!), and Jerry said to me, “We just might have to take our entrees home, because I am stuffed!” The portions at BOGOTA are definitely Latin, “Daisy sized” portions!

Our entrees arrived in timely fashion (there was no lag in service), with Jerry’s Chicken Mole served with yellow rice and roasted corn was juicy, fragrant, and delicious. My Bandeja Paisa, with Carne Asada, arepa,  chicharron, white rice, black beans, maduros and a fried egg was enough food to feed a family of four. The beef was meltingly tender and cooked perfectly medium rare, and the black beans and rice are the ultimate comfort food. The strip of pork chicharron was crispy, but again…I like my chicharron a bit more seasoned. My boys made short work of the doggy bag, Jerry and I brought home!

Chicken Mole Platter

Colombian Bandeja Paisa

I’m not embarrassed to say that we ordered The Tres Leches Cake (faintly perfumed with almond extract) and a dessert of cheesecake filled taquitos ( I forget what they , and couldn’t find a “dessert” link on their online menu) that are kissed with cinnamon, and should be classified as illegal (they’re that good!!), and took them home. In retrospect, this was a good thing, because we made just enough room to dig in to them, as soon as we walked through the door…in fact, I forgot to take pics of them in my hurry to get to dessert!

Owners Farid Ali Lancheros and George Constantinou were gracious enough to stop by the table and say hello, and I don’t want to spill the beans or anything, but rumor has it that there might be a “Brunch with Daisy” at BOGOTA somewhere in the near future…stay tuned!!

BOGOTA Latin Bistro

141 Fifth Avenue @ St. John’s Place

Brooklyn, NY

718 230 3805   (Tell them Daisy sent ya!)

 George, Daisy and Farid at BOGOTA

22 Responses to ““BOGOTA Latin Bistro” Shines”


  1. 1 Ana Germosen February 6, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    Daisy, that food looks AMAZING!! Thanks for posting the pics. Que hambre!! Hee hee!

  2. 2 Julia Lourdes February 6, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    Wow. I will definitely have to check out that restaurant. I’m hungry just looking at your blog posting.

    Can’t wait for the new book next month.

  3. 3 ravierave February 6, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    That avacado salad looks wayyyyyyy delicious! The Patacon con Todo actually made my mouth water. Next time I am in Brooklyn, I will have to check this place out!

  4. 4 Vanessa Morales February 6, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    My mouth is watering! Everything looks delicious! I will have to check it out one of these days when I can visit NYC!

  5. 5 Kevin Beam February 6, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    How dare you Daisy! lol

    I’m on a calorie restricted diet right now!

  6. 6 Pierre Moatti February 6, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    I can almost taste it. Great write-up. Thank you for sharing.

    Pierre

  7. 7 tati February 6, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    you’re always making me hungry! 🙂
    now I want to go there, maybe tomorrow for brunch

  8. 8 Michael February 6, 2010 at 6:50 pm

    Bogota Bistro is one of those places that I keep returning to, over & over again. The brunch there is one of the best in NYC and the service is always good. Your right Daisy, the portions are “mama latina” sized.

  9. 9 Debi Genovese February 6, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    Those pictures are like viewing them 3D they look so Delicious!! That Avocado – Watercress salad looks DIVINE!!

  10. 10 Glen Arvin February 6, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    Daisy – We have watched you since the PBS days…even having Daisy Cooking parties and friendly competitions between friends on who can make their dish more like Daisy…Love You!

  11. 11 susie February 6, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    Great write up, hope you continue to do more!

  12. 12 Liz February 6, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    OMG, I am soo disappointed we missed you!! We were going to go to Bogota yesterday,we love it,and go often, but we ended up going out for lunch instead, and Bogota wasn’t open yet! Daisy, I used to watch you every Sunday on channel 13, and your cookbook is like my bible..recipes easy enough to make when I get home from work..please keep us posted if there will be a “Brunch with Daisy”..I’ll be first in line 🙂

  13. 13 Monique Rivera February 6, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    Just love this place. I always try to have something new and what you posted looks delish. Makes me want to make the trip in from Staten Island.

  14. 14 Vanessa Ann February 6, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    Daisy, loved your blog!!! The food at Bogota is amazing !!!! I went there for dinner a few weeks ago w a friend and I could not stop raving about the place. The food, decor, service and location all deserve a 10+….I will forever be a fan…..

  15. 15 Hipolito Lagares February 6, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    Thank you!!! Lovely place and the food looks great!!! Is making me hungry!!!!

  16. 16 Marcia Libertini February 6, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    B.B. is one of my alltime favorite restaurants and not only because I am Colombian. I have to say you failed to order their delicious & famous mojito(s)! They have an impressive selection of plates for those who are vegetarians as well. Glad you got to taste a bit of what greatness Colombia has to offer!

  17. 17 Barbara February 6, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    This foods looks and sounds amazing!

  18. 18 Mike Delgado February 11, 2010 at 1:26 am

    Daisy,
    I got up tonight a little bit hungry and started looking what I could scavenge in the fridge. But I got sidetracked and came over to your blog instead – WHAT A MISTAKE!
    The food at Bogota all looked sabrosisimo. The fritanga platter and the bandeja paisa shouted, “pruebame, niño!” – I couldn’t help but drool!
    Ahora tengo qué cocinar algo at 1:30 in the morning cause nothing in fridge is going to satisfy me now 🙂

  19. 19 Eliana February 12, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Bogota is one my Brooklyn FAVs. And you’re right Daisy – the portions are enormous but I don’t mind because it’s always delicioso!

  20. 20 Arlene February 17, 2010 at 8:49 am

    This place is RIGHT across the street from where my MIL lived and from where my hubby grew up! Before she moved, I used to look out the window and kept telling my husband, we MUST go there, but we never had a chance to – now we HAVE to go back & eat there .. . . I’m going to tell him that Daisy’s husband took her there, so now he has to take me too – LOL!

  21. 21 Doris Medina February 4, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    Bogata is denfintely has great food and drinks. One of my favoriate resturants in Brooklyn. Food is amazing and of course the drinks. Daisy next time you go to Bogata, order the Sangrita, combination of sangria and margarita. Great drink!!

  22. 22 Unlathe July 30, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    диабет беременность диетаотзывы о препарате для похудения бикинив овсяной диете пить есть весь отвар или кисельблюда из печени диетическиецентры снижения веса в крымурецепты для диеты по кровипринцыпы построение и диет питания какиеможно ли пить чай для похудения во время кормления грудьюкурсы для диетсестёрсбор для похудениядиетические блюда из баклажан14дневная яблочная монодиетакак быстро похудеть книга аллен каарлида препарат для похудения противопоказанияполная таблица диетыцент нетрадиционной медицины и диетологии доктора панасевича-свирскогодиета после операции на желчныйсалат диеталечебная программа для похудения посмотретьправильное питание в течении дня


Leave a comment




Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Barnes & Noble

Order Now: Daisy’s Holiday Cooking from Amazon

Order Now! Daisy:Morning Noon and Night from Barnes & Noble

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night on Amazon

Daisy:Morning Noon and Night

Daisy Cooks on Amazon

Daisy Cooks!

Let’s Be Friends!

Flickr Photos